Logo

Cuando era Puetorriquena

  • 16
    Broadcasts
  • 5
    Followers

PROGRAM INFORMATION

  • United States
  • Spanish

More information

La historia de Esmeralda Santiago comienza en la parte rural de Puerto Rico, donde sus padres y siete hermanos, en continuas luchas los unos con los otros, vivIan una vida alborotada pero llena de amor y ternura. De niNa, Esmeralda aprendiO a apreciar cOmo se come una guayaba, a distinguir la canciOn del coquI, a identificar los ingredientes en las morcillas y a ayudar a que el alma de un bebE muerto subiero al cielo. Pero precisamente cuando Esmeralda parecIa haberlo aprendido todo sobre su cultura, la llevaron a Nueva York, donde las reglas-- y el idioma-- eran no sOlo diferentes, sino tambiEn desconcertantes. COmo Esmeralda superO la adversidad, se ganO entrada a la Performing Arts High School y despuEs continuO a Harvard, de donde se graduO con altos honores, es el realto de la tremenda trayectoria de una mujer verdaderamente extraordinaria. From a rippled zinc shack in rural Puerto Rico to "the better life" in a decaying Brooklyn tenement, Esmeralda Santiago's Puerto Rican childhood is one of sorcery, smoldering war between the sexes, and high comedy. Hers is a portrait of a harsh but enchanted world that can never be reclaimed. Selling over 16,000 copies in hardcover, this triumphant coming-of-age memoir is now available in paperback editions in both English and Spanish. In the tradition of Black Ice, Santiago writes lyrically of her childhood on her native island and of her bewildering years of transition in New York City.
Loading
Cancel
Done 100

Are you sure that you want to delete this?

Cancel Delete