Logo

Look at You Now - My Journey from Shame to Strength

  • 74
    Broadcasts
  • 8
    Followers

PROGRAM INFORMATION

More information

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place
In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant-a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers-but which is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls.
In the cement-block residence, Liz is alone and terrified, a fish out of water-a girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. But over the next six months, isolated and in involuntary hiding from everyone she knows, Liz develops a surprising bond with the other girls and begins to question everything she once held true. Told with tenderness, humor, and an open heart, Look at You Now is a deeply moving story about the most vulnerable moments in our lives-and how a willingness to trust ourselves can permanently change who we are and how we see the world.
Praise for Look at You Now
"A funny, tender and brave coming-of-age tale."-People
"A poignant, often funny reminder that we learn who we are when we're at our most challenged."-Good Housekeeping
"Engrossing . . . Readers will swiftly be drawn into the author's compassionate retelling of her teen pregnancy-her fear, shame, regret, joy, and even her forgiveness of her parents for sending her away. This coming-of-age memoir is authentic and unforgettable."-Publishers Weekly
"[Liz] Pryor's refusal to bury the truth of her experiences is the greatest strength of her book. Her honesty about a youthful error and desire to let that honesty define the rest of her life are both uplifting and
Loading
Cancel
Done 100

Are you sure that you want to delete this?

Cancel Delete