Logo

Missing, Presumed - A Novel

  • 129
    Broadcasts
  • 18
    Followers

PROGRAM INFORMATION

More information

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL
"An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George."-Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer
"Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw's biting wit is a bonus."-The Wall Street Journal
"Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it."-Redbook
"A highly charismatic and engaging story."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French."-Booklist
At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep-and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.
Edith Hind-a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family-has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big-and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.
The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to h
Loading
Cancel
Done 100

Are you sure that you want to delete this?

Cancel Delete