Logo

The Promise of Home - A Mill River Novel

  • 147
    Broadcasts
  • 0
    Followers

PROGRAM INFORMATION

More information

Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship-and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches.
These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hive of activity. Karen Cooper bids farewell to her husband, Nick, as he leaves for Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to beloved nonagenarian Father O'Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding-until a new acquaintance threatens their romance. Emily DiSanti, haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All these lives-and the lives of others in this small town-move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. And when a cache of letters is discovered, a powerful and unexpected secret comes to light-one rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime priest who has touched the lives of everyone in Mill River.
Praise for The Promise of Home
"Chan has once again told a mesmerizing tale about how difficult yet beautiful navigating the river of life can be. This author is, quite simply, an amazing storyteller."-Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star
"Difficult to put down . . . [a] celebration of the healing power of community."-Booklist
"Who better to satisfy [summer] reader cravings than Darcie Chan. . . . Read on-and keep turning those pages [until you] find yourself looking forward to Darcie Chan's next novel. Whew."-Hudson Valley News
"This serene backdrop is the perfect juxtaposition to the internal turmoil of Karen Cooper. Together the townsfolk make a well-rounded novel full of desperation, hope and redemption. This is a beautiful addition to the Mill River series, yet also reads well as a stand-alone novel."-RT Book Reviews
"[A] layere
Loading
Cancel
Done 100

Are you sure that you want to delete this?

Cancel Delete