Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
12.21 - A Novel-logo

12.21 - A Novel

Dustin Thomason

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon-perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown. For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end. In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands. By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out. Advance praise for 12.21 "Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon-perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown. For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end. In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands. By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out. Advance praise for 12.21 "Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page
More Information

Description:

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon-perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown. For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end. In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands. By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out. Advance praise for 12.21 "Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page

Language:

English

Narrators:

Fred Sanders, Noel R. Bearheart

Length:

10h 56m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:16


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

04:30


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

05:45


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

05:35


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:27


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

05:53


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

06:13


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

06:32


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

05:36


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

06:38


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:50


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

06:29


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

06:12


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

06:25


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

06:00


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:16


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

07:41


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

04:38


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

05:46


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:15


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

05:31


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

07:39


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

06:03


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

06:58


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

05:49


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

07:12


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

07:42


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

07:48


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

05:50


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

06:18


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

06:38


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

04:18


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:42


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

05:20


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

05:41


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

05:14


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

04:50


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

05:08


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

06:20


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

05:20


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

06:24


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

05:59


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

05:57


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

05:58


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

06:13


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

06:02


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

05:14


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

05:34


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

05:23


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

06:48


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

07:12


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

07:02


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

06:38


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

04:58


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

06:19


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

06:59


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

07:29


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

07:32


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

06:43


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

05:03


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

06:06


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

06:13


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

05:23


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

07:24


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

07:21


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

05:52


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

05:32


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

06:34


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

06:20


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

07:02


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

05:05


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

04:53


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

06:35


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

06:44


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

07:26


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

07:11


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

06:33


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

07:29


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

06:49


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

06:42


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

06:42


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

05:40


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

06:14


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

07:54


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

05:53


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

06:45


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

05:37


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

06:10


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

07:21


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

07:23


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

05:00


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

05:16


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

05:04


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

05:20


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

04:57


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

04:46


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

06:36


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

05:28


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

04:32


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

05:20


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

06:21


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

06:01


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

06:25


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

05:44


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

05:24


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

05:34


Chapter 107
Chapter 107

06:25


Chapter 108
Chapter 108

05:50


Chapter 109
Chapter 109

00:27