A Clatter of Jars-logo

A Clatter of Jars

Lisa Graff

One of the finest novelists of her generation, National Book Award nominee Lisa Graff returns readers to the world of A Tangle of Knots, where a camp for Talented kids just might be a recipe for disaster. In this magical companion to the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots, it's summertime and everyone is heading off to camp. For Talented kids, the place to be is Camp Atropos, where they can sing songs by the campfire, practice for the Talent show, and take some nice long dips in the lake. But what the kids don't know is that they've been gathered for a reason-one that the camp's director wants to keep hidden at all costs. Meanwhile, a Talent jar that has been dropped to the bottom of the lake has sprung a leak, and strange things have begun to happen. Dozens of seemingly empty jars have been washing up on the shoreline, Talents have been swapped, and memories have been ripped from one camper's head and placed into another. And no one knows why. With a camp full of kids, a lake full of magic, and a grown-up full of a secrets, A Clatter of Jars is story of summer, family, and the lengths we go to win back the people we love. Perfect for readers who loved Katherine Paterson's The Great Gilly Hopkins or Louis Sachar's Holes. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: A Clatter of Jars: "Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."-School Library Journal "Graff's vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar's Holes."-Booklist "Graff's prose and plot construction is as pleasing as ever, and A Clatter of Jars will appeal to a wide range of readers."-Bookpage A Tangle of Knots "Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in."-Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."-Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "

One of the finest novelists of her generation, National Book Award nominee Lisa Graff returns readers to the world of A Tangle of Knots, where a camp for Talented kids just might be a recipe for disaster. In this magical companion to the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots, it's summertime and everyone is heading off to camp. For Talented kids, the place to be is Camp Atropos, where they can sing songs by the campfire, practice for the Talent show, and take some nice long dips in the lake. But what the kids don't know is that they've been gathered for a reason-one that the camp's director wants to keep hidden at all costs. Meanwhile, a Talent jar that has been dropped to the bottom of the lake has sprung a leak, and strange things have begun to happen. Dozens of seemingly empty jars have been washing up on the shoreline, Talents have been swapped, and memories have been ripped from one camper's head and placed into another. And no one knows why. With a camp full of kids, a lake full of magic, and a grown-up full of a secrets, A Clatter of Jars is story of summer, family, and the lengths we go to win back the people we love. Perfect for readers who loved Katherine Paterson's The Great Gilly Hopkins or Louis Sachar's Holes. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: A Clatter of Jars: "Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."-School Library Journal "Graff's vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar's Holes."-Booklist "Graff's prose and plot construction is as pleasing as ever, and A Clatter of Jars will appeal to a wide range of readers."-Bookpage A Tangle of Knots "Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in."-Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."-Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "
More Information

Description:

One of the finest novelists of her generation, National Book Award nominee Lisa Graff returns readers to the world of A Tangle of Knots, where a camp for Talented kids just might be a recipe for disaster. In this magical companion to the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots, it's summertime and everyone is heading off to camp. For Talented kids, the place to be is Camp Atropos, where they can sing songs by the campfire, practice for the Talent show, and take some nice long dips in the lake. But what the kids don't know is that they've been gathered for a reason-one that the camp's director wants to keep hidden at all costs. Meanwhile, a Talent jar that has been dropped to the bottom of the lake has sprung a leak, and strange things have begun to happen. Dozens of seemingly empty jars have been washing up on the shoreline, Talents have been swapped, and memories have been ripped from one camper's head and placed into another. And no one knows why. With a camp full of kids, a lake full of magic, and a grown-up full of a secrets, A Clatter of Jars is story of summer, family, and the lengths we go to win back the people we love. Perfect for readers who loved Katherine Paterson's The Great Gilly Hopkins or Louis Sachar's Holes. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: A Clatter of Jars: "Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."-School Library Journal "Graff's vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar's Holes."-Booklist "Graff's prose and plot construction is as pleasing as ever, and A Clatter of Jars will appeal to a wide range of readers."-Bookpage A Tangle of Knots "Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in."-Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."-Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "

Language:

English

Narrators:

Ellen Archer

Length:

4h 32m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

00:14


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:08


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

04:28


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

04:41


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

00:59


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

07:53


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

07:38


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

08:03


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

08:07


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

08:19


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

07:25


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

07:53


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

07:04


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

05:39


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

05:45


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

01:18


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:58


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

06:27


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:38


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

05:37


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:44


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

01:35


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

04:43


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

04:38


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

07:44


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

06:14


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

05:36


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

01:58


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

07:33


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

03:08


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

03:27


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

01:41


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

03:22


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

03:09


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

04:28


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

03:52


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

02:10


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

02:43


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

05:21


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

02:57


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

03:56


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

00:47


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

00:51


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

03:01


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

01:02


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

00:55


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

05:08


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

05:44


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

00:46


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

06:48


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

04:12


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

04:08


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

04:43


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

03:36


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

02:23


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

04:37


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

01:57


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

03:28


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

02:59


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

03:06


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

08:33


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

02:17


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

06:08


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

00:32