A Dual Inheritance - A Novel-logo

A Dual Inheritance - A Novel

Joanna Hershon

For readers of Rules of Civility and The Marriage Plot, Joanna Hershon's A Dual Inheritance is an engrossing novel of passion, friendship, betrayal, and class-and their reverberations across generations. Autumn 1962: Ed Cantowitz and Hugh Shipley meet in their final year at Harvard. Ed is far removed from Hugh's privileged upbringing as a Boston Brahmin, yet his drive and ambition outpace Hugh's ambivalence about his own life. These two young men form an unlikely friendship, bolstered by a fierce shared desire to transcend their circumstances. But in just a few short years, not only do their paths diverge-one rising on Wall Street, the other becoming a kind of global humanitarian-but their friendship ends abruptly, with only one of them understanding why. Can a friendship define your view of the world? Spanning from the Cuban Missile Crisis to the present-day stock market collapse, with locations as diverse as Dar es Salaam, Boston, Shenzhen, and Fishers Island, A Dual Inheritance asks this question, as it follows not only these two men, but the complicated women in their vastly different lives. And as Ed and Hugh grow farther and farther apart, they remain uniquely-even surprisingly-connected. Praise for A Dual Inheritance "A big, captivating sweep of a romance . . . a searching exploration of class and destiny in late-twentieth-century America."-Jennifer Egan "The best book about male friendship written this young century."-Details "[A] warm, smart, enjoyably complex novel . . . Both Hugh and Ed are lonely searchers . . . and [Hershon's] skill in rendering each of them as flawed individuals is what makes the novel so readable and so rich. . . . A Dual Inheritance is an old-fashioned social novel that feels fresh because of its deft, clear-eyed approach to still-unspoken rules about ethnicity, money and identity."-San Francisco Chronicle "An absorbing, fully-realized novel . . . [Hershon] renders the book's many locales with a nuanced appreciation for the way environment emerges out of the con

For readers of Rules of Civility and The Marriage Plot, Joanna Hershon's A Dual Inheritance is an engrossing novel of passion, friendship, betrayal, and class-and their reverberations across generations. Autumn 1962: Ed Cantowitz and Hugh Shipley meet in their final year at Harvard. Ed is far removed from Hugh's privileged upbringing as a Boston Brahmin, yet his drive and ambition outpace Hugh's ambivalence about his own life. These two young men form an unlikely friendship, bolstered by a fierce shared desire to transcend their circumstances. But in just a few short years, not only do their paths diverge-one rising on Wall Street, the other becoming a kind of global humanitarian-but their friendship ends abruptly, with only one of them understanding why. Can a friendship define your view of the world? Spanning from the Cuban Missile Crisis to the present-day stock market collapse, with locations as diverse as Dar es Salaam, Boston, Shenzhen, and Fishers Island, A Dual Inheritance asks this question, as it follows not only these two men, but the complicated women in their vastly different lives. And as Ed and Hugh grow farther and farther apart, they remain uniquely-even surprisingly-connected. Praise for A Dual Inheritance "A big, captivating sweep of a romance . . . a searching exploration of class and destiny in late-twentieth-century America."-Jennifer Egan "The best book about male friendship written this young century."-Details "[A] warm, smart, enjoyably complex novel . . . Both Hugh and Ed are lonely searchers . . . and [Hershon's] skill in rendering each of them as flawed individuals is what makes the novel so readable and so rich. . . . A Dual Inheritance is an old-fashioned social novel that feels fresh because of its deft, clear-eyed approach to still-unspoken rules about ethnicity, money and identity."-San Francisco Chronicle "An absorbing, fully-realized novel . . . [Hershon] renders the book's many locales with a nuanced appreciation for the way environment emerges out of the con
More Information

Description:

For readers of Rules of Civility and The Marriage Plot, Joanna Hershon's A Dual Inheritance is an engrossing novel of passion, friendship, betrayal, and class-and their reverberations across generations. Autumn 1962: Ed Cantowitz and Hugh Shipley meet in their final year at Harvard. Ed is far removed from Hugh's privileged upbringing as a Boston Brahmin, yet his drive and ambition outpace Hugh's ambivalence about his own life. These two young men form an unlikely friendship, bolstered by a fierce shared desire to transcend their circumstances. But in just a few short years, not only do their paths diverge-one rising on Wall Street, the other becoming a kind of global humanitarian-but their friendship ends abruptly, with only one of them understanding why. Can a friendship define your view of the world? Spanning from the Cuban Missile Crisis to the present-day stock market collapse, with locations as diverse as Dar es Salaam, Boston, Shenzhen, and Fishers Island, A Dual Inheritance asks this question, as it follows not only these two men, but the complicated women in their vastly different lives. And as Ed and Hugh grow farther and farther apart, they remain uniquely-even surprisingly-connected. Praise for A Dual Inheritance "A big, captivating sweep of a romance . . . a searching exploration of class and destiny in late-twentieth-century America."-Jennifer Egan "The best book about male friendship written this young century."-Details "[A] warm, smart, enjoyably complex novel . . . Both Hugh and Ed are lonely searchers . . . and [Hershon's] skill in rendering each of them as flawed individuals is what makes the novel so readable and so rich. . . . A Dual Inheritance is an old-fashioned social novel that feels fresh because of its deft, clear-eyed approach to still-unspoken rules about ethnicity, money and identity."-San Francisco Chronicle "An absorbing, fully-realized novel . . . [Hershon] renders the book's many locales with a nuanced appreciation for the way environment emerges out of the con

Language:

English

Length:

18h 6m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:11


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:22


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

00:27


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

05:11


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

08:12


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

07:13


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

05:05


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

07:52


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

06:29


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

06:24


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:28


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

05:30


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

05:46


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

07:15


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

05:32


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

04:59


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

05:16


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

08:14


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

07:23


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

06:58


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

07:17


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

05:18


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

05:31


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

07:10


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

08:39


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

05:41


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

05:31


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

02:58


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

06:25


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

05:21


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

05:17


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

07:25


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:45


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:30


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

07:16


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:15


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

07:49


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

06:33


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

08:26


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

08:21


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

07:23


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

04:39


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

05:17


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

06:20


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

06:43


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

05:49


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

05:31


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

08:27


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

06:53


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

06:08


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

06:21


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

07:38


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

07:32


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

06:49


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

05:30


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

06:17


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

08:31


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

05:11


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

06:38


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

04:16


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

05:47


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

05:42


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

08:00


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

04:54


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

05:53


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

05:43


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

07:12


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

06:47


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

05:38


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

08:26


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

06:55


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

06:56


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

06:53


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

08:14


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

04:22


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

06:07


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

06:56


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

07:13


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

07:05


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

07:37


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

05:53


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

06:20


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

05:39


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

08:21


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

09:36


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

06:54


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

04:31


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

08:35


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

04:36


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

05:29


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

09:05


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

05:09


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

07:31


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

05:26


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

08:46


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

05:45


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

05:50


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

07:04


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

06:15


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

04:52


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

07:54


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

05:50


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

04:39


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

07:53


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

07:49


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

05:44


Chapter 107
Chapter 107

06:41


Chapter 108
Chapter 108

05:57


Chapter 109
Chapter 109

05:31


Chapter 110
Chapter 110

08:18


Chapter 111
Chapter 111

08:04


Chapter 112
Chapter 112

06:30


Chapter 113
Chapter 113

05:25


Chapter 114
Chapter 114

09:45


Chapter 115
Chapter 115

06:32


Chapter 116
Chapter 116

04:38


Chapter 117
Chapter 117

05:17


Chapter 118
Chapter 118

04:54


Chapter 119
Chapter 119

05:42


Chapter 120
Chapter 120

06:23


Chapter 121
Chapter 121

05:31


Chapter 122
Chapter 122

08:46


Chapter 123
Chapter 123

07:30


Chapter 124
Chapter 124

06:53


Chapter 125
Chapter 125

05:16


Chapter 126
Chapter 126

06:05


Chapter 127
Chapter 127

07:49


Chapter 128
Chapter 128

06:07


Chapter 129
Chapter 129

04:51


Chapter 130
Chapter 130

06:47


Chapter 131
Chapter 131

06:09


Chapter 132
Chapter 132

08:30


Chapter 133
Chapter 133

06:02


Chapter 134
Chapter 134

05:07


Chapter 135
Chapter 135

07:33


Chapter 136
Chapter 136

05:48


Chapter 137
Chapter 137

06:06


Chapter 138
Chapter 138

04:27


Chapter 139
Chapter 139

07:34


Chapter 140
Chapter 140

05:38


Chapter 141
Chapter 141

05:48


Chapter 142
Chapter 142

06:05


Chapter 143
Chapter 143

06:11


Chapter 144
Chapter 144

07:59


Chapter 145
Chapter 145

06:35


Chapter 146
Chapter 146

07:33


Chapter 147
Chapter 147

05:25


Chapter 148
Chapter 148

05:11


Chapter 149
Chapter 149

08:07


Chapter 150
Chapter 150

07:48


Chapter 151
Chapter 151

07:24


Chapter 152
Chapter 152

06:25


Chapter 153
Chapter 153

04:28


Chapter 154
Chapter 154

07:46


Chapter 155
Chapter 155

05:49


Chapter 156
Chapter 156

04:22


Chapter 157
Chapter 157

06:35


Chapter 158
Chapter 158

06:59


Chapter 159
Chapter 159

05:30


Chapter 160
Chapter 160

05:24


Chapter 161
Chapter 161

07:51


Chapter 162
Chapter 162

06:34


Chapter 163
Chapter 163

07:08


Chapter 164
Chapter 164

05:28


Chapter 165
Chapter 165

04:26


Chapter 166
Chapter 166

07:56


Chapter 167
Chapter 167

05:37


Chapter 168
Chapter 168

08:01


Chapter 169
Chapter 169

05:41


Chapter 170
Chapter 170

04:18


Chapter 171
Chapter 171

03:32


Chapter 172
Chapter 172

00:31