Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
A Naked Singularity-logo

A Naked Singularity

Sergio De La Pava

***Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Best Debut Novel of 2012 ***Wall Street Journal 10 Best Fiction Books of 2012 ***2014 Folio Prize Shortlist A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis's A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

***Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Best Debut Novel of 2012 ***Wall Street Journal 10 Best Fiction Books of 2012 ***2014 Folio Prize Shortlist A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis's A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.
More Information

Genres:

Fiction

Description:

***Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Best Debut Novel of 2012 ***Wall Street Journal 10 Best Fiction Books of 2012 ***2014 Folio Prize Shortlist A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis's A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Luis Moreno

Length:

27h 13m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

55:41


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

53:10


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

36:48


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

45:13


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

49:10


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

42:58


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

48:10


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

30:35


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

49:28


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

50:27


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

52:43


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

58:50


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

44:27


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

45:49


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

40:35


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

40:31


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

56:22


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

02:34


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

28:46


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

33:56


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

32:24


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

38:50


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

38:50


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

47:25


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

05:16


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

41:24


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

31:30


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

36:09


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

34:41


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

37:44


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

37:14


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

31:39


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

34:09


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

20:00


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

18:08


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

10:56


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

21:04


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

37:00


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

40:26


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

30:49


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

36:14


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

23:05


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

49:55


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

09:51


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

21:57


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

00:32