A New England Girlhood: Outlined From Memory-logo

A New England Girlhood: Outlined From Memory

Lucy Larcom

Lucy Larcom was an American poet, teacher, and mil-worker. According to Wikipedia: "Larcom served as a model for the change in women's roles in society." This is her colorful autobiography. Here, she tells about her happy childhood, and her time working in the mill. Along the way, she speaks about topics like morality, independence, love and loss inside a family, a strong belief in god, and the effects of being poor. Fans of Gene Stratton Porter, Fanny Fern and Susan Warner, and Ella Wheeler Wilcox will be delighted with this book. Lucy's sunny personality makes this book a very uplifting and interesting read.(Summary by Stav Nisser.)

Lucy Larcom was an American poet, teacher, and mil-worker. According to Wikipedia: "Larcom served as a model for the change in women's roles in society." This is her colorful autobiography. Here, she tells about her happy childhood, and her time working in the mill. Along the way, she speaks about topics like morality, independence, love and loss inside a family, a strong belief in god, and the effects of being poor. Fans of Gene Stratton Porter, Fanny Fern and Susan Warner, and Ella Wheeler Wilcox will be delighted with this book. Lucy's sunny personality makes this book a very uplifting and interesting read.(Summary by Stav Nisser.)
More Information

Description:

Lucy Larcom was an American poet, teacher, and mil-worker. According to Wikipedia: "Larcom served as a model for the change in women's roles in society." This is her colorful autobiography. Here, she tells about her happy childhood, and her time working in the mill. Along the way, she speaks about topics like morality, independence, love and loss inside a family, a strong belief in god, and the effects of being poor. Fans of Gene Stratton Porter, Fanny Fern and Susan Warner, and Ella Wheeler Wilcox will be delighted with this book. Lucy's sunny personality makes this book a very uplifting and interesting read.(Summary by Stav Nisser.)

Language:

English

Narrators:

LibriVox Community

Length:

6h 20m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

15:22


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

30:30


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

28:03


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

23:18


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

26:45


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

34:02


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

30:06


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

34:40


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

36:23


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

25:36


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

33:01


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

27:55


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

34:54