A Thousand Pardons - A Novel-logo

A Thousand Pardons - A Novel

Jonathan Dee

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home-a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly. Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one. As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness. Praise for A Thousand Pardons "A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."-Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad "Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there."-The Boston Globe "Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates comp

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home-a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly. Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one. As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness. Praise for A Thousand Pardons "A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."-Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad "Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there."-The Boston Globe "Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates comp
More Information

Genres:

Fiction

Description:

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home-a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly. Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one. As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness. Praise for A Thousand Pardons "A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."-Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad "Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there."-The Boston Globe "Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates comp

Language:

English

Narrators:

Mark Deakins

Length:

8h 23m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

00:13


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

08:12


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

09:15


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

09:43


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

08:54


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

09:41


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

08:56


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

09:39


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

09:31


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

06:41


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

06:28


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:31


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

08:08


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

08:38


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

08:29


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

09:24


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

08:38


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

09:23


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:25


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

05:54


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

09:02


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

08:01


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

08:14


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

08:59


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

09:12


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

08:12


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

08:57


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

08:36


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

07:47


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

08:21


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

07:13


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

08:04


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

07:47


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

07:15


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:34


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

08:01


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:44


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

08:16


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

08:23


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

09:50


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

08:16


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

05:44


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

08:27


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

08:11


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

08:30


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

06:03


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

06:22


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

08:22


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

08:39


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

07:27


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

07:38


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

08:01


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

09:02


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

07:20


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

09:40


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

09:53


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

09:08


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

07:25


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

09:27


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

09:21


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

09:11


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

07:59


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

00:27