A Window Opens - A Novel-logo

A Window Opens - A Novel

Elisabeth Egan

*People's "Summer's Must-Reads"* *"A winning, heartfelt debut." -Good Housekeeping* *Publishers Weekly "Best Summer Reads"* Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this "fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all" (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny-only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in-and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers―an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life―seems suddenly within reach. Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does she―Alice Pearse―really want?

*People's "Summer's Must-Reads"* *"A winning, heartfelt debut." -Good Housekeeping* *Publishers Weekly "Best Summer Reads"* Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this "fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all" (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny-only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in-and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers―an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life―seems suddenly within reach. Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does she―Alice Pearse―really want?
More Information

Description:

*People's "Summer's Must-Reads"* *"A winning, heartfelt debut." -Good Housekeeping* *Publishers Weekly "Best Summer Reads"* Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this "fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all" (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny-only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in-and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers―an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life―seems suddenly within reach. Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does she―Alice Pearse―really want?

Language:

English

Narrators:

Julia Whelan

Length:

11h 41m


Chapters

Free Sample

03:55

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:43


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

03:57


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

23:28


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

21:42


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

46:23


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

11:20


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

33:56


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

11:21


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

15:47


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

31:06


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

16:19


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

30:17


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

19:17


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

28:31


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

36:18


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

02:31


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

26:17


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

30:41


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

09:54


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:10


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

16:29


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

17:26


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

15:37


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

07:39


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

03:28


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

10:18


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

13:12


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

08:21


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

12:58


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

06:57


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

21:02


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

10:24


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

02:25


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

04:22


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

07:55


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

02:43


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

17:00


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

22:45


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

00:50


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

14:25


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

22:34


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

04:38


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

12:07


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

09:09


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

13:17


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

17:49


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

00:47