Amatka - A Novel-logo

Amatka - A Novel

Karin Tidbeck

"I recommend that you lay your hands on a copy." -Ann Leckie "An instant classic." -Jeff VanderMeer A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk. In Karin Tidbeck's world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing-not even language, nor the very fabric of reality-can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.

"I recommend that you lay your hands on a copy." -Ann Leckie "An instant classic." -Jeff VanderMeer A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk. In Karin Tidbeck's world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing-not even language, nor the very fabric of reality-can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.
More Information

Description:

"I recommend that you lay your hands on a copy." -Ann Leckie "An instant classic." -Jeff VanderMeer A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk. In Karin Tidbeck's world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing-not even language, nor the very fabric of reality-can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Kirsten Potter

Length:

6h 11m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:12


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

05:57


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

08:22


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

08:43


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

05:50


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

04:08


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

07:33


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

06:04


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

07:46


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

03:26


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

08:50


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

06:53


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

03:18


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

07:04


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

04:24


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:27


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

07:27


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

07:11


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

06:07


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:16


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

05:08


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

06:14


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

07:06


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

06:20


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

05:24


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

03:35


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

05:19


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

05:16


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

05:01


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

08:46


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

04:50


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

04:45


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

03:41


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

05:12


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

04:16


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

05:02


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

08:20


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

05:11


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

04:35


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

08:55


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

07:08


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

08:33


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

04:34


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

05:44


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

06:34


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

06:51


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

08:13


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

07:33


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

08:02


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

05:35


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

05:20


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

04:45


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

07:23


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

08:44


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

08:11


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

03:12


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

05:10


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

04:33


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

08:53


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

05:10


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

08:11


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

00:34