Among the Ten Thousand Things - A Novel-logo

Among the Ten Thousand Things - A Novel

Julia Pierpont

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost. Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's. With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life-their brittleness, and their resilience. Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things "A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author."-The New York Times Book Review "This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I've read in a long time."-Jonathan Safran Foer "Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity."-Vanity Fair "Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost. Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's. With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life-their brittleness, and their resilience. Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things "A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author."-The New York Times Book Review "This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I've read in a long time."-Jonathan Safran Foer "Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity."-Vanity Fair "Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of
More Information

Genres:

Fiction

Description:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost. Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's. With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life-their brittleness, and their resilience. Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things "A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author."-The New York Times Book Review "This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I've read in a long time."-Jonathan Safran Foer "Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity."-Vanity Fair "Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of

Language:

English

Narrators:

Hillary Huber

Length:

9h 6m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:13


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:25


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

04:20


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

05:15


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

04:33


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

03:43


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

05:32


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

04:06


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

06:15


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

04:42


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:34


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

05:37


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

04:56


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

04:25


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

03:58


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:20


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

04:02


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

04:44


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

04:47


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

04:06


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

04:53


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

05:30


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

06:06


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

05:52


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

04:23


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

06:31


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

03:11


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

04:07


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

04:29


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

05:25


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

03:34


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

03:46


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:44


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

06:03


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

04:12


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

04:10


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

03:44


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

06:39


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

04:05


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

04:57


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

06:01


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

06:39


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

04:35


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

02:16


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

05:07


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

04:37


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:39


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

05:18


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

04:54


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

04:49


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

05:48


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

04:48


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

04:36


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

04:55


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

05:06


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

03:24


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

05:22


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

06:22


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

03:23


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

03:55


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

05:38


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

04:53


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

03:31


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

05:29


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

05:45


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

04:57


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

05:07


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

04:38


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

03:54


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

04:42


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

05:48


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

06:15


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

05:44


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

03:52


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

04:27


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

02:40


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

02:26


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

04:20


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

04:53


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

04:43


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

03:53


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

04:19


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

04:43


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

05:32


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

05:09


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

05:53


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

05:55


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

04:14


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

04:37


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

05:23


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

01:34


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

03:17


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

04:24


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

04:37


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

03:21


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

03:48


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

04:11


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

04:49


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

04:22


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

04:55


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

04:57


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

05:06


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

05:27


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

04:11


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

02:59


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

03:20


Chapter 107
Chapter 107

04:37


Chapter 108
Chapter 108

05:11


Chapter 109
Chapter 109

04:45


Chapter 110
Chapter 110

04:55


Chapter 111
Chapter 111

04:36


Chapter 112
Chapter 112

03:49


Chapter 113
Chapter 113

01:24


Chapter 114
Chapter 114

02:23


Chapter 115
Chapter 115

02:45


Chapter 116
Chapter 116

01:57


Chapter 117
Chapter 117

03:01


Chapter 118
Chapter 118

02:29


Chapter 119
Chapter 119

01:28


Chapter 120
Chapter 120

04:02


Chapter 121
Chapter 121

05:13


Chapter 122
Chapter 122

05:43


Chapter 123
Chapter 123

00:30