Anna and the Swallow Man-logo

Anna and the Swallow Man

Gavriel Savit

More Information

Description:

New York Times Bestseller "Exquisite." -The Wall Street Journal "This is masterly storytelling." -The New York Times Book Review A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief. Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna's father-she knows that very well-but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities. From the Hardcover edition.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Allan Corduner

Length:

6h 31m


Chapters

Free Sample

05:00

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:13


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

08:28


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

06:17


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

06:14


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:03


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

07:27


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

06:43


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

06:30


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

07:57


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

08:44


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

08:24


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

05:27


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

05:28


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

08:00


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

08:58


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

08:34


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

06:07


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:28


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

04:12


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:53


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

05:53


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

06:38


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

07:42


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

07:57


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

07:28


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

05:47


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

06:08


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

06:01


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

08:15


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

07:55


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

04:06


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

06:34


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

06:01


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

06:46


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

06:59


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

04:59


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

05:17


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

08:29


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

07:08


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

04:44


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

06:20


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

08:15


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

08:11


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

05:50


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

05:18


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

04:27


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:36


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

04:52


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

05:21


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

07:04


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

07:01


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

06:38


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

04:33


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

08:43


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

06:03


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

08:57


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

06:44


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

07:05


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

06:51


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

06:04


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

00:28