Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
Be True to Me-logo

Be True to Me

Adele Griffin

From a two-time National Book Award finalist comes a riveting romantic drama about the gilded lives of the super-rich and the high price of fitting in. "This is a glittery gem of a book. I was utterly transported to Fire Island--to endless summer days, girls in sundresses, that rush you get the first time you fall hard in love. I fell so hard in love with this book." -Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before It's the summer of 1976 on Fire Island, where feathered hair and the Bicentennial celebration reign. Jean, a sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious rich girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister's shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean-not her sister-Jean is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the Island's tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine. Through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz, Adele Griffin captures the angst of feeling like you don't belong and the urgency of first love with masterly prose and a sharp wit perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars.

From a two-time National Book Award finalist comes a riveting romantic drama about the gilded lives of the super-rich and the high price of fitting in. "This is a glittery gem of a book. I was utterly transported to Fire Island--to endless summer days, girls in sundresses, that rush you get the first time you fall hard in love. I fell so hard in love with this book." -Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before It's the summer of 1976 on Fire Island, where feathered hair and the Bicentennial celebration reign. Jean, a sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious rich girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister's shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean-not her sister-Jean is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the Island's tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine. Through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz, Adele Griffin captures the angst of feeling like you don't belong and the urgency of first love with masterly prose and a sharp wit perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars.
More Information

Description:

From a two-time National Book Award finalist comes a riveting romantic drama about the gilded lives of the super-rich and the high price of fitting in. "This is a glittery gem of a book. I was utterly transported to Fire Island--to endless summer days, girls in sundresses, that rush you get the first time you fall hard in love. I fell so hard in love with this book." -Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before It's the summer of 1976 on Fire Island, where feathered hair and the Bicentennial celebration reign. Jean, a sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious rich girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister's shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean-not her sister-Jean is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the Island's tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine. Through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz, Adele Griffin captures the angst of feeling like you don't belong and the urgency of first love with masterly prose and a sharp wit perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Eva Kaminsky, Laura Knight Keating

Length:

8h 50m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:15


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:47


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

05:42


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

25:11


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

10:21


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

17:32


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

23:57


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

47:17


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

14:07


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

44:38


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

28:45


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

16:29


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

22:45


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

25:51


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

28:30


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

10:20


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

08:35


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

34:57


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

54:09


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

10:34


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

09:54


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

30:07


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

07:41


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

17:20


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

04:33


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

08:07


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

10:14


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

11:57


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

00:23