Counting by 7s-logo

Counting by 7s

Holly Goldberg Sloan

A New York Times Bestseller In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read. * "Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page."-School Library Journal starred review * "A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet-but never cloying-lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss."-Booklist starred review * "What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a "person of color"; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant."-The Horn Book starred review "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."-Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette From the Trade Paperback edition.

A New York Times Bestseller In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read. * "Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page."-School Library Journal starred review * "A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet-but never cloying-lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss."-Booklist starred review * "What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a "person of color"; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant."-The Horn Book starred review "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."-Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette From the Trade Paperback edition.
More Information

Description:

A New York Times Bestseller In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read. * "Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page."-School Library Journal starred review * "A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet-but never cloying-lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss."-Booklist starred review * "What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a "person of color"; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant."-The Horn Book starred review "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."-Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette From the Trade Paperback edition.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Robin Miles

Length:

7h 15m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

00:09


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

09:07


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

13:10


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

11:40


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

10:08


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

12:15


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

09:48


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

05:47


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

07:43


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

05:01


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

07:07


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:28


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

08:48


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

01:39


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

03:46


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

07:09


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

02:31


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

04:39


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:54


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

06:39


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:10


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

03:41


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

09:27


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

06:50


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

03:33


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

03:43


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

03:21


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

04:01


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

14:36


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

09:02


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

05:11


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

07:20


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

08:07


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:35


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

08:56


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

04:10


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:01


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

05:41


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

06:35


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

10:48


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

04:52


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

08:05


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

07:29


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

07:17


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

08:07


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

12:08


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

13:45


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:12


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

08:40


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

06:58


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

08:09


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

05:19


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

08:24


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

11:46


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

04:07


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

06:01


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

03:23


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

08:06


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

09:50


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

03:06


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

08:39


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

04:28