Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
Don't Fail Me Now-logo

Don't Fail Me Now

Una LaMarche

From the author of Like No Other, the novel Entertainment Weekly calls "One of the most poignant and star-crossed love stories since The Fault in Our Stars": What if the last hope to save your family is the person who broke it up to begin with? "Fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sharon Flake will find much to love in [Don't Fail Me Now]." --School Library Journal Michelle and her little siblings Cass and Denny are African-American and living on the poverty line in urban Baltimore, struggling to keep it together with their mom in jail and only Michelle's part-time job at the Taco Bell to sustain them. Leah and her stepbrother Tim are white and middle class from suburban Maryland, with few worries beyond winning lacrosse games and getting college applications in on time. Michelle and Leah only have one thing in common: Buck Devereaux, the biological father who abandoned them when they were little. After news trickles back to them that Buck is dying, they make the uneasy decision to drive across country to his hospice in California. Leah hopes for closure; Michelle just wants to give him a piece of her mind. Five people in a failing, old station wagon, living off free samples at food courts across America, and the most pressing question on Michelle's mind is: Who will break down first--herself or the car? All the signs tell her they won't make it. But Michelle has heard that her whole life, and it's never stopped her before.... Una LaMarche triumphs once again with this rare and compassionate look at how racial and social privilege affects one family in crisis in both subtle and astonishing ways. From the Hardcover edition.

From the author of Like No Other, the novel Entertainment Weekly calls "One of the most poignant and star-crossed love stories since The Fault in Our Stars": What if the last hope to save your family is the person who broke it up to begin with? "Fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sharon Flake will find much to love in [Don't Fail Me Now]." --School Library Journal Michelle and her little siblings Cass and Denny are African-American and living on the poverty line in urban Baltimore, struggling to keep it together with their mom in jail and only Michelle's part-time job at the Taco Bell to sustain them. Leah and her stepbrother Tim are white and middle class from suburban Maryland, with few worries beyond winning lacrosse games and getting college applications in on time. Michelle and Leah only have one thing in common: Buck Devereaux, the biological father who abandoned them when they were little. After news trickles back to them that Buck is dying, they make the uneasy decision to drive across country to his hospice in California. Leah hopes for closure; Michelle just wants to give him a piece of her mind. Five people in a failing, old station wagon, living off free samples at food courts across America, and the most pressing question on Michelle's mind is: Who will break down first--herself or the car? All the signs tell her they won't make it. But Michelle has heard that her whole life, and it's never stopped her before.... Una LaMarche triumphs once again with this rare and compassionate look at how racial and social privilege affects one family in crisis in both subtle and astonishing ways. From the Hardcover edition.
More Information

Description:

From the author of Like No Other, the novel Entertainment Weekly calls "One of the most poignant and star-crossed love stories since The Fault in Our Stars": What if the last hope to save your family is the person who broke it up to begin with? "Fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sharon Flake will find much to love in [Don't Fail Me Now]." --School Library Journal Michelle and her little siblings Cass and Denny are African-American and living on the poverty line in urban Baltimore, struggling to keep it together with their mom in jail and only Michelle's part-time job at the Taco Bell to sustain them. Leah and her stepbrother Tim are white and middle class from suburban Maryland, with few worries beyond winning lacrosse games and getting college applications in on time. Michelle and Leah only have one thing in common: Buck Devereaux, the biological father who abandoned them when they were little. After news trickles back to them that Buck is dying, they make the uneasy decision to drive across country to his hospice in California. Leah hopes for closure; Michelle just wants to give him a piece of her mind. Five people in a failing, old station wagon, living off free samples at food courts across America, and the most pressing question on Michelle's mind is: Who will break down first--herself or the car? All the signs tell her they won't make it. But Michelle has heard that her whole life, and it's never stopped her before.... Una LaMarche triumphs once again with this rare and compassionate look at how racial and social privilege affects one family in crisis in both subtle and astonishing ways. From the Hardcover edition.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Adenrele Ojo

Length:

9h 2m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

00:12


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

09:10


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

09:37


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

05:39


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

08:34


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

09:16


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

08:40


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

03:58


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

07:11


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

06:36


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

05:42


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:40


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

06:12


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

07:40


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

04:17


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

09:45


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

09:15


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

03:15


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:40


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

08:39


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

04:59


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

05:55


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

07:42


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

06:08


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

06:15


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

05:25


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

06:27


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

06:33


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

05:36


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

06:57


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

06:13


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

06:07


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

06:00


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:01


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:02


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

07:24


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:58


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

08:24


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

08:35


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

06:36


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

05:21


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

08:10


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

07:47


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

06:24


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

06:07


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

08:47


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

07:58


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

05:07


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

06:00


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

04:56


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

06:46


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

09:01


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

05:05


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

09:15


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

05:19


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

04:03


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

07:22


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

05:21


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

06:26


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

04:28


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

07:39


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

05:32


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

04:53


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

06:40


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

07:51


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

08:50


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

06:18


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

04:54


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

05:39


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

09:16


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

08:10


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

08:03


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

07:49


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

05:21


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

04:08


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

06:19


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

05:30


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

08:41


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

06:17


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

06:02


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

05:01


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

06:26


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

00:29