Eye of the Red Tsar - A Novel of Suspense-logo

Eye of the Red Tsar - A Novel of Suspense

Sam Eastland

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him. Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state. A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter. But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history. In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion-and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves. With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves. From the Hardcover edition.

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him. Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state. A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter. But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history. In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion-and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves. With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves. From the Hardcover edition.
More Information

Description:

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him. Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state. A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter. But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history. In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion-and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves. With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves. From the Hardcover edition.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Paul Michael

Length:

9h 5m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:14


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

03:05


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

07:21


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

07:40


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:29


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

06:59


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

05:09


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

05:34


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

08:50


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

06:30


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

05:48


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

06:41


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

06:55


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

06:02


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

05:59


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:03


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

06:07


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:59


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

06:09


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:54


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

06:28


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

06:41


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

07:01


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

06:35


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

06:21


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

07:47


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

06:56


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

06:51


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

07:41


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

07:58


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

06:18


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

05:50


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:41


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:52


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

07:42


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

06:45


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

05:03


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

07:59


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

07:01


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

07:26


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

06:46


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

07:12


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

06:40


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

06:45


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

05:53


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

05:05


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

07:32


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

06:42


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

07:33


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

05:41


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

05:44


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

06:58


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

06:59


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

07:55


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

05:44


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

07:24


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

05:32


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

06:43


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

07:43


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

06:08


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

07:15


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

06:53


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

06:50


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

06:35


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

07:50


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

07:09


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

05:55


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

06:54


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

06:30


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

07:23


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

06:41


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

06:04


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

06:20


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

07:39


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

07:33


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

08:00


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

05:17


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

06:41


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

07:58


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

06:19


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

05:58


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

05:51


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

06:12


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

00:32