Girl at War - A Novel-logo

Girl at War - A Novel

Sara Novic

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age-and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana's sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world. New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she's tried to move on from her past, she can't escape her memories of war-secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country's difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before. Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl-and its legacy on all of us. It's a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today. Praise for Girl at War "Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth."-The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice) "[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader's attentio

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age-and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana's sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world. New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she's tried to move on from her past, she can't escape her memories of war-secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country's difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before. Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl-and its legacy on all of us. It's a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today. Praise for Girl at War "Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth."-The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice) "[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader's attentio
More Information

Genres:

Fiction

Description:

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age-and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana's sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world. New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she's tried to move on from her past, she can't escape her memories of war-secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country's difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before. Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl-and its legacy on all of us. It's a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today. Praise for Girl at War "Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth."-The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice) "[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader's attentio

Language:

English

Narrators:

Julia Whelan

Length:

7h 33m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:15


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

01:05


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

07:20


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

05:52


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

03:46


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

06:24


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

04:54


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

06:50


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

03:36


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

07:46


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:41


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

06:47


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

07:45


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

04:53


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

04:01


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:28


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

05:13


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

07:06


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

08:12


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

06:44


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

07:09


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

08:06


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

05:51


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

06:54


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

08:57


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

07:44


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

05:13


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

05:53


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

07:17


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

03:31


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

08:53


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

05:09


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:54


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

04:03


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

08:50


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

05:48


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

05:13


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

07:37


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

07:49


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

06:18


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

04:38


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

04:49


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

05:33


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

06:21


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

06:09


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

06:07


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:43


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

05:06


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

04:39


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

04:37


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

04:52


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

05:32


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

04:51


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

05:41


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

05:09


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

04:35


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

05:59


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

04:39


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

05:09


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

04:57


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

04:51


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

07:29


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

05:13


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

04:00


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

06:55


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

05:19


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

08:37


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

03:42


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

04:24


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

05:01


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

04:36


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

03:29


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

05:51


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

05:04


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

04:50


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

05:07


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

05:20


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

05:05


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

04:42


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

06:17


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

00:32