Good Morning, Midnight - A Novel-logo

Good Morning, Midnight - A Novel

Lily Brooks-Dalton

For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton's haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders-a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth-as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS • COLSON WHITEHEAD'S FAVORITE BOOK OF 2016 (Esquire) Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone. At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success. But when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crewmates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home. As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives? Lily Brooks-Dalton's captivating debut is a meditation on the power of love and the bravery of the human heart. Praise for Good Morning, Midnight "Stunningly gorgeous . . . The book contemplates the biggest questions-What is left at the end of the world? What is the impact of a life's work?"-Portland Mercury "A beautifully written, sparse po

For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton's haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders-a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth-as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS • COLSON WHITEHEAD'S FAVORITE BOOK OF 2016 (Esquire) Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone. At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success. But when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crewmates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home. As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives? Lily Brooks-Dalton's captivating debut is a meditation on the power of love and the bravery of the human heart. Praise for Good Morning, Midnight "Stunningly gorgeous . . . The book contemplates the biggest questions-What is left at the end of the world? What is the impact of a life's work?"-Portland Mercury "A beautifully written, sparse po
More Information

Description:

For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton's haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders-a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth-as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS • COLSON WHITEHEAD'S FAVORITE BOOK OF 2016 (Esquire) Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone. At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success. But when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crewmates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home. As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives? Lily Brooks-Dalton's captivating debut is a meditation on the power of love and the bravery of the human heart. Praise for Good Morning, Midnight "Stunningly gorgeous . . . The book contemplates the biggest questions-What is left at the end of the world? What is the impact of a life's work?"-Portland Mercury "A beautifully written, sparse po

Language:

English

Narrators:

John H. Mayer, Hillary Huber

Length:

8h 40m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:15


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:16


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

04:27


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

08:34


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

07:47


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

06:16


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

08:22


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

08:29


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

07:22


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

03:18


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

07:24


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

08:50


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

07:22


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

05:19


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

05:08


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

08:24


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

06:43


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

08:35


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

08:46


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:44


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

07:56


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

08:08


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

05:31


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

04:00


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

06:56


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

07:50


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

06:26


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

05:08


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

04:55


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

07:48


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

08:35


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

06:49


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

06:24


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

05:17


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

03:30


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

05:44


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

07:46


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

07:55


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

04:57


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

05:21


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

05:33


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

03:57


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

09:24


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

07:45


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

07:31


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

04:12


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

05:18


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

07:56


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

09:12


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

08:45


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

08:28


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

09:37


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

08:52


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

08:19


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

09:49


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

08:09


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

07:44


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

08:47


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

03:36


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

07:07


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

09:07


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

05:51


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

04:56


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

07:18


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

07:38


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

06:54


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

03:01


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

07:19


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

07:54


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

03:19


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

08:04


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

08:23


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

05:49


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

05:48


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

08:58


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

04:55


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

04:34


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

06:15


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

00:33