Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
Lily and Dunkin-logo

Lily and Dunkin

Donna Gephart

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." --VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. * 2017 Southern Book Award Finalist * Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health * NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016 * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016 * Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 * Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers * ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens * Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee * Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018 * Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017 * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 * Junior Library Guild Selection * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award * 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book * 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Ki

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." --VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. * 2017 Southern Book Award Finalist * Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health * NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016 * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016 * Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 * Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers * ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens * Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee * Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018 * Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017 * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 * Junior Library Guild Selection * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award * 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book * 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Ki
More Information

Description:

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." --VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. * 2017 Southern Book Award Finalist * Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health * NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016 * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016 * Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 * Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers * ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens * Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee * Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018 * Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017 * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 * Junior Library Guild Selection * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award * 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book * 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Ki

Language:

English

Narrators:

Ryan Gesell, Michael Crouch

Length:

8h 50m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

00:24


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:11


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

06:26


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

07:27


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

04:40


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

04:38


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

06:30


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

07:49


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

06:03


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

04:32


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

07:11


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

05:18


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

08:09


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

03:18


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

02:00


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

05:26


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:08


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

02:40


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

04:58


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

08:08


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

07:52


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

03:49


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

05:45


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

04:13


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

02:30


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

04:19


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

03:17


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

03:26


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

00:56


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

01:31


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

06:26


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

02:03


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

02:48


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

01:38


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

04:59


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

03:06


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

01:10


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

02:43


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

01:39


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

04:17


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

02:24


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

02:28


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

06:50


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

02:44


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

02:48


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

03:33


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

03:05


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

02:11


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

04:27


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

05:38


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

04:25


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

04:33


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

05:19


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

01:28


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

02:42


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

02:35


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

02:47


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

03:13


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

04:43


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

07:10


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

05:31


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

02:26


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

03:35


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

03:40


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

04:59


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

06:32


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

05:11


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

03:54


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

05:16


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

05:44


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

05:42


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

06:18


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

04:16


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

05:55


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

03:25


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

02:45


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

04:12


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

04:34


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

04:32


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

02:14


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

01:52


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

07:02


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

04:19


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

04:20


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

02:27


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

01:41


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

02:54


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

02:17


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

05:44


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

01:19


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

04:00


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

01:53


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

07:52


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

06:07


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

01:47


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

02:05


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

08:41


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

04:10


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

03:43


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

04:51


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

05:17


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

06:03


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

08:29


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

02:56


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

02:56


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

02:21


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

01:46


Chapter 107
Chapter 107

03:39


Chapter 108
Chapter 108

05:37


Chapter 109
Chapter 109

01:54


Chapter 110
Chapter 110

01:36


Chapter 111
Chapter 111

04:10


Chapter 112
Chapter 112

03:55


Chapter 113
Chapter 113

04:48


Chapter 114
Chapter 114

01:42


Chapter 115
Chapter 115

01:06


Chapter 116
Chapter 116

03:48


Chapter 117
Chapter 117

01:09


Chapter 118
Chapter 118

01:20


Chapter 119
Chapter 119

06:16


Chapter 120
Chapter 120

02:54


Chapter 121
Chapter 121

05:10


Chapter 122
Chapter 122

02:20


Chapter 123
Chapter 123

02:40


Chapter 124
Chapter 124

03:52


Chapter 125
Chapter 125

01:20


Chapter 126
Chapter 126

04:29


Chapter 127
Chapter 127

08:01


Chapter 128
Chapter 128

04:02


Chapter 129
Chapter 129

07:20


Chapter 130
Chapter 130

03:06


Chapter 131
Chapter 131

00:32