Look at You Now - My Journey from Shame to Strength-logo

Look at You Now - My Journey from Shame to Strength

Liz Pryor

CHICAGO TRIBUNE BESTSELLER • For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant-a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers-but which is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls. In the cement-block residence, Liz is alone and terrified, a fish out of water-a girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. But over the next six months, isolated and in involuntary hiding from everyone she knows, Liz develops a surprising bond with the other girls and begins to question everything she once held true. Told with tenderness, humor, and an open heart, Look at You Now is a deeply moving story about the most vulnerable moments in our lives-and how a willingness to trust ourselves can permanently change who we are and how we see the world. Praise for Look at You Now "A funny, tender and brave coming-of-age tale."-People "A poignant, often funny reminder that we learn who we are when we're at our most challenged."-Good Housekeeping "Searingly honest."-Family Circle "Readers will swiftly be drawn into the author's compassionate retelling of her teen pregnancy-her fear, shame, regret, joy, and even her forgiveness of her parents for sending her away. This coming-of-age memoir is authentic and unforgettable."-Publishers Weekly "[Liz] Pryor's refusal to bury the truth of her experiences is the greatest strength of her book. Her honesty about a youthful error and desire to let that honesty def

CHICAGO TRIBUNE BESTSELLER • For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant-a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers-but which is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls. In the cement-block residence, Liz is alone and terrified, a fish out of water-a girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. But over the next six months, isolated and in involuntary hiding from everyone she knows, Liz develops a surprising bond with the other girls and begins to question everything she once held true. Told with tenderness, humor, and an open heart, Look at You Now is a deeply moving story about the most vulnerable moments in our lives-and how a willingness to trust ourselves can permanently change who we are and how we see the world. Praise for Look at You Now "A funny, tender and brave coming-of-age tale."-People "A poignant, often funny reminder that we learn who we are when we're at our most challenged."-Good Housekeeping "Searingly honest."-Family Circle "Readers will swiftly be drawn into the author's compassionate retelling of her teen pregnancy-her fear, shame, regret, joy, and even her forgiveness of her parents for sending her away. This coming-of-age memoir is authentic and unforgettable."-Publishers Weekly "[Liz] Pryor's refusal to bury the truth of her experiences is the greatest strength of her book. Her honesty about a youthful error and desire to let that honesty def
More Information

Description:

CHICAGO TRIBUNE BESTSELLER • For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant-a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers-but which is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls. In the cement-block residence, Liz is alone and terrified, a fish out of water-a girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. But over the next six months, isolated and in involuntary hiding from everyone she knows, Liz develops a surprising bond with the other girls and begins to question everything she once held true. Told with tenderness, humor, and an open heart, Look at You Now is a deeply moving story about the most vulnerable moments in our lives-and how a willingness to trust ourselves can permanently change who we are and how we see the world. Praise for Look at You Now "A funny, tender and brave coming-of-age tale."-People "A poignant, often funny reminder that we learn who we are when we're at our most challenged."-Good Housekeeping "Searingly honest."-Family Circle "Readers will swiftly be drawn into the author's compassionate retelling of her teen pregnancy-her fear, shame, regret, joy, and even her forgiveness of her parents for sending her away. This coming-of-age memoir is authentic and unforgettable."-Publishers Weekly "[Liz] Pryor's refusal to bury the truth of her experiences is the greatest strength of her book. Her honesty about a youthful error and desire to let that honesty def

Language:

English

Length:

7h 29m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:12


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:27


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

03:32


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

02:35


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:43


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

08:14


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

09:02


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

07:11


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

05:42


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

07:11


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:18


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

02:31


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

07:44


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

04:49


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

06:54


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

09:09


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

03:39


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

07:22


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

09:09


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:07


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

02:48


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

07:32


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

04:35


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

08:05


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

08:00


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

03:38


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

08:40


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

07:40


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

06:28


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

05:37


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

04:25


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

09:43


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

03:20


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:28


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

07:10


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:45


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

03:42


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

09:01


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

04:43


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

03:00


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

05:50


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

07:43


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

07:49


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

05:45


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

04:45


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

10:00


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

09:11


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

05:59


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

02:25


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

07:40


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

06:47


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

03:21


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

09:19


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

01:00


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

02:23


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

09:24


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

08:41


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

05:15


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

07:07


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

08:36


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

06:58


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

00:57


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

07:36


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

02:00


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

07:42


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

09:34


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

09:17


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

08:50


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

09:50


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

07:35


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

09:30


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

04:59


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

00:27