Missing, Presumed - A Novel-logo

Missing, Presumed - A Novel

Susie Steiner

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL "An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George."-Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer "Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw's biting wit is a bonus."-The Wall Street Journal "Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it."-Redbook "A highly charismatic and engaging story."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French."-Booklist At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep-and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene. Edith Hind-a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family-has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big-and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive. The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to h

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL "An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George."-Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer "Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw's biting wit is a bonus."-The Wall Street Journal "Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it."-Redbook "A highly charismatic and engaging story."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French."-Booklist At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep-and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene. Edith Hind-a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family-has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big-and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive. The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to h
More Information

Description:

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL "An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George."-Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer "Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw's biting wit is a bonus."-The Wall Street Journal "Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it."-Redbook "A highly charismatic and engaging story."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French."-Booklist At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep-and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene. Edith Hind-a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family-has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big-and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive. The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to h

Language:

English

Narrators:

Juanita McMahon

Length:

12h 55m


Chapters

Free Sample

05:00

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:12


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:13


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

08:39


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

06:15


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

07:15


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

05:23


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

04:58


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

04:50


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

04:42


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

05:13


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:47


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

05:23


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

06:28


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

07:04


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

04:47


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

06:46


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

03:20


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

06:10


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

07:21


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

07:03


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

07:57


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

05:33


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

05:09


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

05:22


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

05:15


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

08:04


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

05:35


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

04:20


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

08:30


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

08:51


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

05:28


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

08:43


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

08:01


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

06:16


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

08:39


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:25


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

07:34


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

06:10


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

04:58


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

08:53


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

04:10


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

06:40


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

07:12


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

07:16


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

04:33


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

06:51


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

07:43


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

07:15


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

09:00


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

08:26


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

04:48


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

05:38


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

05:28


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

04:27


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

07:37


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

04:14


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

06:56


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

08:11


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

04:56


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

08:07


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

07:55


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

03:57


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

06:02


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

04:34


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

05:57


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

05:41


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

03:47


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

05:40


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

08:44


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

07:50


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

05:06


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

04:24


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

04:43


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

06:16


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

05:09


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

04:12


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

03:20


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

05:09


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

05:07


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

05:51


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

05:07


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

06:46


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

07:38


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

08:37


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

05:16


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

06:55


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

06:58


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

06:00


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

06:18


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

08:08


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

07:14


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

05:34


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

03:40


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

08:25


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

05:15


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

07:23


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

06:45


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

05:17


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

05:17


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

06:04


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

05:21


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

02:59


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

02:44


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

04:55


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

06:00


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

08:30


Chapter 107
Chapter 107

07:31


Chapter 108
Chapter 108

09:00


Chapter 109
Chapter 109

06:25


Chapter 110
Chapter 110

07:00


Chapter 111
Chapter 111

04:44


Chapter 112
Chapter 112

08:48


Chapter 113
Chapter 113

05:51


Chapter 114
Chapter 114

05:39


Chapter 115
Chapter 115

04:18


Chapter 116
Chapter 116

03:19


Chapter 117
Chapter 117

06:05


Chapter 118
Chapter 118

06:10


Chapter 119
Chapter 119

06:41


Chapter 120
Chapter 120

08:31


Chapter 121
Chapter 121

03:29


Chapter 122
Chapter 122

06:41


Chapter 123
Chapter 123

07:26


Chapter 124
Chapter 124

06:19


Chapter 125
Chapter 125

06:02


Chapter 126
Chapter 126

06:43


Chapter 127
Chapter 127

06:25


Chapter 128
Chapter 128

00:25