My Sister's Bones - A Novel of Suspense-logo

My Sister's Bones - A Novel of Suspense

Nuala Ellwood

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door—but is what she's seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria? The One Person You Should Trust Is Lying to You… Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she's always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door—a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children—Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong. As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up—and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister's insistence that all was not as Kate remembers—she begins to wonder what is actually true…and what is just in her mind. In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting , humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that readers won't be able to put down.

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door—but is what she's seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria? The One Person You Should Trust Is Lying to You… Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she's always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door—a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children—Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong. As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up—and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister's insistence that all was not as Kate remembers—she begins to wonder what is actually true…and what is just in her mind. In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting , humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that readers won't be able to put down.
More Information

Description:

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door—but is what she's seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria? The One Person You Should Trust Is Lying to You… Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she's always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door—a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children—Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong. As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up—and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister's insistence that all was not as Kate remembers—she begins to wonder what is actually true…and what is just in her mind. In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting , humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that readers won't be able to put down.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Jane Copland, Mary Jane Wells

Length:

9h 49m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:16


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

01:26


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

06:26


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

21:08


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

11:49


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

20:07


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

08:40


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

06:10


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

08:48


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

17:56


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:48


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

24:32


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

04:47


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

18:41


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

24:11


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

06:24


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

17:14


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

19:37


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

19:16


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

12:22


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

14:53


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

21:24


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

10:39


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

10:36


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

11:12


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

08:33


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

16:34


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

13:38


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

08:38


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

11:38


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

11:57


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

18:43


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

12:41


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

08:38


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

08:01


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

13:15


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

07:51


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

08:28


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

05:23


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

07:33


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

05:18


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

12:34


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

10:59


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

10:35


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

04:44


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

06:34


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

09:03


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

10:18


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

15:33


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

12:12


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

06:35


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

00:34