Oryx and Crake-logo

Oryx and Crake

Margaret Atwood

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. From the Hardcover edition.

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. From the Hardcover edition.
More Information

Description:

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. From the Hardcover edition.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Campbell Scott

Length:

10h 32m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

04:49


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

07:41


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

04:42


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

05:07


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:43


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

07:39


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

05:27


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

08:18


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

05:37


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

08:18


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:07


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

07:49


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

06:29


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

06:29


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

05:19


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

07:22


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

07:12


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:48


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

07:34


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

06:40


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

05:05


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

07:21


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

04:09


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

09:10


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

07:56


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

06:15


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

07:15


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

06:00


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

05:56


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

08:16


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

05:25


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

04:18


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

08:10


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:40


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

05:52


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:44


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

08:28


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

06:59


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

07:48


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

07:07


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

06:59


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

05:56


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

06:12


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

07:41


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

06:30


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

06:37


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

07:41


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

06:41


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

07:54


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

05:06


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

07:25


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

05:36


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

05:21


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

07:15


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

06:18


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

08:44


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

07:52


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

07:05


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

06:40


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

04:35


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

09:27


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

05:26


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

07:21


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

07:23


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

06:54


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

06:45


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

05:20


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

07:24


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

06:32


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

07:44


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

08:08


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

08:04


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

06:02


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

05:53


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

07:02


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

06:04


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

05:07


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

06:14


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

07:29


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

06:55


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

06:40


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

06:11


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

06:03


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

07:51


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

07:09


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

06:55


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

07:52


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

06:29


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

06:29


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

05:31


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

06:11


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

07:24


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

06:20


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

08:16