Paperboy-logo

Paperboy

Vince Vawter

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." -Booklist, Starred "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" -ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life. Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering-not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life. A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice An IRA Teachers' Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A BookPage Best Children's Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection "[Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" -The Washington Post "Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." -Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America *"[A] tense, memorable story." -Publishers Weekly, Starred "An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." -Kirkus Reviews "Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." -School Lib

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." -Booklist, Starred "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" -ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life. Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering-not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life. A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice An IRA Teachers' Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A BookPage Best Children's Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection "[Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" -The Washington Post "Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." -Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America *"[A] tense, memorable story." -Publishers Weekly, Starred "An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." -Kirkus Reviews "Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." -School Lib
More Information

Description:

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." -Booklist, Starred "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" -ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life. Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering-not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life. A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice An IRA Teachers' Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A BookPage Best Children's Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection "[Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" -The Washington Post "Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." -Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America *"[A] tense, memorable story." -Publishers Weekly, Starred "An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." -Kirkus Reviews "Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." -School Lib

Language:

English

Narrators:

Lincoln Hoppe

Length:

6h 10m


Chapters

Free Sample

05:00

Introduction
Introduction

00:14


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

11:53


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

15:52


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

32:41


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

28:24


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

24:58


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

14:12


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

20:28


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

37:46


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

22:29


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

12:38


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

13:56


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

16:28


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

11:16


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

08:23


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

09:38


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

13:01


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

27:11


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

10:32


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

16:48


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

16:08


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

04:54


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

00:29