Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
Scrapper-logo

Scrapper

Matt Bell

For fans of The Dog Starsand Station Eleven, Scrapperuses the real-life dystopia of a devastated Detroit serves as a backdrop for one man's desperate quest for justice and redemptive grace. In the wake of tragedy, ex-boxer Kelly returns to Detroit after years in the south. Unable to find work, he scavenges for scrap metal in the hundred-thousand abandoned buildings at the heart of the city, an area he calls "the zone," where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy handcuffed to a bed, crying out for rescue. After being celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly decides to avenge the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, unearthing long-buried cycles of trauma and cruelty, memories made dangerous again. In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woodswas a commercial and critical success. Author is very connected in the publishing world and has friends and fans across the country, including many booksellers, reviewers and other industry buzz-builders. After the mythological explorations of his first novel, Scrapperis set in a world closer to our own, expanding his appeal to new readers. Praise for In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods An ABA IndieNext Selection Flavorwire Staff Pick/Top 10 Debut of the Year The Nervous Breakdown Book Club Selection "A gripping, grisly tale of a husband's descent into and ultimate emergence from some kind of personal hell."--The New York Times "Bell's novel isn't just a joy to read, it's also one of the smartest meditations on the subjects of love, family and marriage in recent years."-- NPR "Somber, incantatory sentences to hold you within [Bell's] dreamlike creation.... This unique book leaves you with the haunting lesson that even if you renounce and cast away your loved ones, you can never disown the memory of your deeds."-- The Wall Street Journal "Here's a story that stirs the Brothers Grimm and Salvador Dali with its

For fans of The Dog Starsand Station Eleven, Scrapperuses the real-life dystopia of a devastated Detroit serves as a backdrop for one man's desperate quest for justice and redemptive grace. In the wake of tragedy, ex-boxer Kelly returns to Detroit after years in the south. Unable to find work, he scavenges for scrap metal in the hundred-thousand abandoned buildings at the heart of the city, an area he calls "the zone," where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy handcuffed to a bed, crying out for rescue. After being celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly decides to avenge the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, unearthing long-buried cycles of trauma and cruelty, memories made dangerous again. In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woodswas a commercial and critical success. Author is very connected in the publishing world and has friends and fans across the country, including many booksellers, reviewers and other industry buzz-builders. After the mythological explorations of his first novel, Scrapperis set in a world closer to our own, expanding his appeal to new readers. Praise for In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods An ABA IndieNext Selection Flavorwire Staff Pick/Top 10 Debut of the Year The Nervous Breakdown Book Club Selection "A gripping, grisly tale of a husband's descent into and ultimate emergence from some kind of personal hell."--The New York Times "Bell's novel isn't just a joy to read, it's also one of the smartest meditations on the subjects of love, family and marriage in recent years."-- NPR "Somber, incantatory sentences to hold you within [Bell's] dreamlike creation.... This unique book leaves you with the haunting lesson that even if you renounce and cast away your loved ones, you can never disown the memory of your deeds."-- The Wall Street Journal "Here's a story that stirs the Brothers Grimm and Salvador Dali with its
More Information

Genres:

Fiction

Description:

For fans of The Dog Starsand Station Eleven, Scrapperuses the real-life dystopia of a devastated Detroit serves as a backdrop for one man's desperate quest for justice and redemptive grace. In the wake of tragedy, ex-boxer Kelly returns to Detroit after years in the south. Unable to find work, he scavenges for scrap metal in the hundred-thousand abandoned buildings at the heart of the city, an area he calls "the zone," where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy handcuffed to a bed, crying out for rescue. After being celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly decides to avenge the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, unearthing long-buried cycles of trauma and cruelty, memories made dangerous again. In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woodswas a commercial and critical success. Author is very connected in the publishing world and has friends and fans across the country, including many booksellers, reviewers and other industry buzz-builders. After the mythological explorations of his first novel, Scrapperis set in a world closer to our own, expanding his appeal to new readers. Praise for In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods An ABA IndieNext Selection Flavorwire Staff Pick/Top 10 Debut of the Year The Nervous Breakdown Book Club Selection "A gripping, grisly tale of a husband's descent into and ultimate emergence from some kind of personal hell."--The New York Times "Bell's novel isn't just a joy to read, it's also one of the smartest meditations on the subjects of love, family and marriage in recent years."-- NPR "Somber, incantatory sentences to hold you within [Bell's] dreamlike creation.... This unique book leaves you with the haunting lesson that even if you renounce and cast away your loved ones, you can never disown the memory of your deeds."-- The Wall Street Journal "Here's a story that stirs the Brothers Grimm and Salvador Dali with its

Language:

English

Narrators:

David Chandler

Length:

8h 39m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

14:45


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

30:40


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

26:47


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

35:09


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

40:21


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

48:55


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

34:01


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

14:42


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

52:30


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

43:18


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

14:49


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

07:42


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

06:07


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

54:51


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

18:55


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

45:01


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

30:10


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

00:30