The Boy Who Could See Demons - A Novel-logo

The Boy Who Could See Demons - A Novel

Carolyn Jess-Cooke

More Information

Description:

Bestselling author Carolyn Jess-Cooke has written a brilliant novel of suspense that delves into the recesses of the human mind and soul-perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lisa Unger. The Boy Who Could See Demons follows a child psychologist who comes up against a career-defining case-one that threatens to unravel her own painful past and jeopardizes the life of a boy who can see the impossible. Dr. Anya Molokova, a child psychiatrist, is called in to work at MacNeice House, an adolescent mental health treatment center. There she is told to observe and assess Alex Connolly, a keenly intelligent, sensitive ten-year-old coping with his mother's latest suicide attempt. Alex is in need of serious counseling: He has been harming himself and others, often during blackouts. At the root of his destructive behavior, Alex claims, is his imaginary "friend" Ruen, a cunning demon who urges Alex to bend to his often violent will. But Anya has seen this kind of behavior before-with her own daughter, Poppy, who suffered from early-onset schizophrenia. Determined to help Alex out of his darkness, Anya begins to treat the child. But soon strange and alarming coincidences compel Anya to wonder: Is Alex's condition a cruel trick of the mind? Or is Ruen not so make-believe after all? The reality, it turns out, is more terrifying than anything she has ever encountered. A rich and deeply moving page-turner, The Boy Who Could See Demons sets out to challenge the imagination and capture the way life takes unexpected turns. In the best storytelling tradition, it leaves the reader changed. Praise for The Boy Who Could See Demons "A well written, engaging read filled with compassion for those suffering the whims of an untamed mental illness . . . A poignant read, The Boy Who Could See Demons is a suspenseful novel that probes the issues surrounding the devastating effects of mental illness. The author delves into the psychological issues of schizophrenia and mental disorders with such dexterity it leaves the reader stirred a

Language:

English

Narrators:

Bruce Mann

Length:

10h 35m


Chapters

Free Sample

05:00

Introduction
Introduction

01:00


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

05:02


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

07:23


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

07:12


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

07:22


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

07:37


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

04:56


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

08:03


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

05:52


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

04:52


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

08:51


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

09:54


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

05:03


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

07:22


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

08:50


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

04:14


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

03:47


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

04:26


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

07:39


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

07:16


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

09:17


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

07:40


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

07:55


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

09:03


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

04:08


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

07:53


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

08:38


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

03:59


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

06:42


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

07:32


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

04:16


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

06:26


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

06:33


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

08:47


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:05


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

09:16


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

04:35


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

09:14


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

04:30


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

09:16


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

07:55


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

04:38


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

09:56


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

08:01


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

06:00


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

04:45


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

08:04


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

07:24


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

06:39


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

09:32


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

08:05


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

08:54


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

07:43


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

07:33


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

07:02


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

06:52


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

05:45


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

06:06


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

08:44


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

03:54


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

06:34


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

05:59


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

07:05


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

06:14


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

07:57


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

06:09


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

04:13


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

06:07


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

06:25


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

04:59


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

09:08


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

06:30


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

05:04


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

04:58


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

05:39


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

07:30


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

07:29


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

05:07


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

08:48


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

09:06


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

05:15


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

06:11


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

08:55


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

08:18


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

06:39


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

06:08


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

04:52


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

06:58


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

04:06


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

07:33


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

09:08


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

05:26


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

06:54


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

04:32


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

00:31