Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
The Castle in the Mist-logo

The Castle in the Mist

Amy Ephron

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement-and the dangers-of wishing. Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt's sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn't disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is. But at William's castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there's William's eerie warning: Beware of the hawthorn trees. A warning that chills Tess to the bone. In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they'd wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden-and for anyone who's ever wondered if magic is real. Praise for The Castle in the Mist: "Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron's first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways."-Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s "This beautiful story's quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max's separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy."-Booklist "Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book's beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world....A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens."-Kirkus Reviews "There are scenes...that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection."-BCCB "A slightly dar

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement-and the dangers-of wishing. Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt's sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn't disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is. But at William's castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there's William's eerie warning: Beware of the hawthorn trees. A warning that chills Tess to the bone. In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they'd wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden-and for anyone who's ever wondered if magic is real. Praise for The Castle in the Mist: "Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron's first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways."-Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s "This beautiful story's quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max's separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy."-Booklist "Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book's beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world....A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens."-Kirkus Reviews "There are scenes...that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection."-BCCB "A slightly dar
More Information

Description:

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement-and the dangers-of wishing. Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt's sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn't disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is. But at William's castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there's William's eerie warning: Beware of the hawthorn trees. A warning that chills Tess to the bone. In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they'd wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden-and for anyone who's ever wondered if magic is real. Praise for The Castle in the Mist: "Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron's first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways."-Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s "This beautiful story's quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max's separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy."-Booklist "Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book's beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world....A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens."-Kirkus Reviews "There are scenes...that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection."-BCCB "A slightly dar

Language:

English

Narrators:

Laraine Newman

Length:

3h 29m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:14


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:09


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

02:02


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

06:11


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

05:50


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

05:11


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

06:56


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

05:44


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

05:50


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

06:20


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

02:22


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

04:45


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

05:16


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

01:34


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

05:14


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

06:51


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

04:27


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:18


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

04:41


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

08:29


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

04:18


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

02:25


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

04:15


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

05:44


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

05:55


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

07:00


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

08:53


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

05:28


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

02:54


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

07:31


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

01:57


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

07:23


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

07:05


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

04:42


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

05:35


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

08:34


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

03:37


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

06:25


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

07:20


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

08:25


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

00:32