The Confectioner's Tale-logo

The Confectioner's Tale

Laura Madeleine

More Information

Description:

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner's daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air. But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins. Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words 'Forgive me'. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal. 'Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read' Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Girl under the Olive Tree Take a moment to savour a bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades - perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Julie Teal

Length:

8h 42m