The Eureka Factor - Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain-logo

The Eureka Factor - Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain

John Kounios

In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg's The Power of Habit, David Eagleman's Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow's Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has aha moments-sudden creative insights-explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success. Eureka or aha moments are sudden realizations that expand our understanding of the world and ourselves, conferring both personal growth and practical advantage. Such creative insights, as psychological scientists call them, were what conveyed an important discovery in the science of genetics to Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock, the melody of a Beatles ballad to Paul McCartney, and an understanding of the cause of human suffering to the Buddha. But these moments of clarity are not given only to the famous. Anyone can have them. In The Eureka Factor, John Kounios and Mark Beeman explain how insights arise and what the scientific research says about stimulating more of them. They discuss how various conditions affect the likelihood of your having an insight, when insight is helpful and when deliberate methodical thought is better suited to a task, what the relationship is between insight and intuition, and how the brain's right hemisphere contributes to creative thought. Written in a lively, engaging style, this book goes beyond scientific principles to offer productive techniques for realizing your creative potential-at home and at work. The authors provide compelling anecdotes to illustrate how eureka experiences can be a key factor in your life. Attend a dinner party with Christopher Columbus to learn why we need insights. Go to a baseball game with the director of a classic Disney Pixar movie to learn about one important type of aha moment. Observe the behind-the-scenes arrangements for an Elvis Presley concert to learn why the timing of insights is crucial. Accessible and compelling, The Eureka Factor is a fascinating look at th

In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg's The Power of Habit, David Eagleman's Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow's Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has aha moments-sudden creative insights-explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success. Eureka or aha moments are sudden realizations that expand our understanding of the world and ourselves, conferring both personal growth and practical advantage. Such creative insights, as psychological scientists call them, were what conveyed an important discovery in the science of genetics to Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock, the melody of a Beatles ballad to Paul McCartney, and an understanding of the cause of human suffering to the Buddha. But these moments of clarity are not given only to the famous. Anyone can have them. In The Eureka Factor, John Kounios and Mark Beeman explain how insights arise and what the scientific research says about stimulating more of them. They discuss how various conditions affect the likelihood of your having an insight, when insight is helpful and when deliberate methodical thought is better suited to a task, what the relationship is between insight and intuition, and how the brain's right hemisphere contributes to creative thought. Written in a lively, engaging style, this book goes beyond scientific principles to offer productive techniques for realizing your creative potential-at home and at work. The authors provide compelling anecdotes to illustrate how eureka experiences can be a key factor in your life. Attend a dinner party with Christopher Columbus to learn why we need insights. Go to a baseball game with the director of a classic Disney Pixar movie to learn about one important type of aha moment. Observe the behind-the-scenes arrangements for an Elvis Presley concert to learn why the timing of insights is crucial. Accessible and compelling, The Eureka Factor is a fascinating look at th
More Information

Description:

In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg's The Power of Habit, David Eagleman's Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow's Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has aha moments-sudden creative insights-explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success. Eureka or aha moments are sudden realizations that expand our understanding of the world and ourselves, conferring both personal growth and practical advantage. Such creative insights, as psychological scientists call them, were what conveyed an important discovery in the science of genetics to Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock, the melody of a Beatles ballad to Paul McCartney, and an understanding of the cause of human suffering to the Buddha. But these moments of clarity are not given only to the famous. Anyone can have them. In The Eureka Factor, John Kounios and Mark Beeman explain how insights arise and what the scientific research says about stimulating more of them. They discuss how various conditions affect the likelihood of your having an insight, when insight is helpful and when deliberate methodical thought is better suited to a task, what the relationship is between insight and intuition, and how the brain's right hemisphere contributes to creative thought. Written in a lively, engaging style, this book goes beyond scientific principles to offer productive techniques for realizing your creative potential-at home and at work. The authors provide compelling anecdotes to illustrate how eureka experiences can be a key factor in your life. Attend a dinner party with Christopher Columbus to learn why we need insights. Go to a baseball game with the director of a classic Disney Pixar movie to learn about one important type of aha moment. Observe the behind-the-scenes arrangements for an Elvis Presley concert to learn why the timing of insights is crucial. Accessible and compelling, The Eureka Factor is a fascinating look at th

Language:

English

Narrators:

Mark Beeman

Length:

6h 27m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:17


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

08:53


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

07:31


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

07:37


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

07:48


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

05:35


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

08:26


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

08:03


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

05:17


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

08:26


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:33


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

05:02


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

05:52


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

06:10


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

06:30


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

02:44


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

06:33


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

05:24


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

08:08


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

05:16


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

06:28


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

07:20


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

02:58


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

08:00


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

06:40


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

05:29


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

06:54


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

07:56


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

08:05


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

06:56


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

04:21


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

08:27


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:10


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

08:36


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

07:53


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

08:13


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

08:54


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

08:13


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

04:05


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

08:44


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

08:41


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

07:02


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

08:49


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

07:00


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

04:06


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

07:50


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:10


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

07:31


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

07:08


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

08:38


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

05:51


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

07:57


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

06:39


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

04:52


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

06:49


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

09:01


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

03:19


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

08:16


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

00:27