The Ex - A Novel-logo

The Ex - A Novel

Alafair Burke

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide-and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder-there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him-and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide-and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder-there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him-and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?
More Information

Description:

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide-and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder-there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him-and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Language:

English

Narrators:

Xe Sands

Length:

7h 44m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

08:07


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

12:05


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

13:58


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

07:30


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

15:48


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

21:21


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

18:01


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

15:14


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

35:07


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

18:06


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

24:05


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

20:58


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

15:56


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

28:29


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

29:39


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

16:47


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

12:38


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

13:32


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

17:08


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

22:20


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

20:55


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

27:17


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

31:53


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

09:05


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

07:47


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

00:28