The Iran Wars - Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East-logo

The Iran Wars - Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East

Jay Solomon

From the Wall Street Journal reporter who's been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country's decades-long power struggle with the United States-for readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East-a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran's aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region-what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America's interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels-military, financial, and covert. Jay Solomon's book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict-from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter's masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran's nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship. This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The

From the Wall Street Journal reporter who's been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country's decades-long power struggle with the United States-for readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East-a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran's aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region-what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America's interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels-military, financial, and covert. Jay Solomon's book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict-from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter's masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran's nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship. This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The
More Information

Description:

From the Wall Street Journal reporter who's been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country's decades-long power struggle with the United States-for readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East-a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran's aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region-what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America's interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels-military, financial, and covert. Jay Solomon's book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict-from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter's masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran's nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship. This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The

Language:

English

Narrators:

Rob Shapiro

Length:

11h 40m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:17


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

08:04


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

07:16


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

06:03


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:24


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

08:30


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

07:26


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

08:13


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

07:17


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

04:27


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:25


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

07:20


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

05:01


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

04:45


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

08:12


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

04:07


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

08:20


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

06:36


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

08:07


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

07:08


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

08:06


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

06:22


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

08:26


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

08:42


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

08:27


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

07:39


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

08:14


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

04:36


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

08:20


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

06:09


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

05:52


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

05:10


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:22


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

04:39


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

08:16


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

07:44


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

07:33


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

07:07


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

05:32


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

06:48


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

08:11


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

05:12


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

07:35


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

04:51


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

08:11


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

08:07


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

07:14


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

03:27


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

08:40


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

05:48


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

07:01


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

05:14


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

07:51


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

03:06


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

08:26


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

04:55


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

08:24


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

06:32


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

06:16


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

03:54


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

08:37


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

08:45


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

05:59


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

08:22


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

05:22


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

05:10


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

05:12


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

04:49


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

05:23


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

04:35


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

07:13


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

07:31


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

07:21


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

06:47


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

07:01


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

03:59


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

05:54


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

06:53


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

08:39


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

08:49


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

08:30


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

04:44


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

08:05


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

08:05


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

04:43


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

04:54


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

05:25


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

06:06


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

08:44


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

03:46


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

06:40


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

09:50


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

08:00


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

08:27


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

06:04


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

05:30


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

05:39


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

04:37


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

08:58


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

06:59


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

06:18


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

05:19


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

08:35


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

08:40


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

07:20


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

00:33