The Millionaires' Unit - The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power-logo

The Millionaires' Unit - The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power

Marc Wortman

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.
More Information

Genres:

History

Description:

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Patrick Lawlor

Length:

13h 33m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

25:39


Part 1, Chapter 1
Part 1, Chapter 1

30:08


Part 1, Chapter 2
Part 1, Chapter 2

29:08


Part 1, Chapter 3
Part 1, Chapter 3

50:38


Part 1, Chapter 4
Part 1, Chapter 4

26:37


Part 1, Chapter 5
Part 1, Chapter 5

34:35


Part 1, Chapter 6
Part 1, Chapter 6

30:21


Part 1, Chapter 7
Part 1, Chapter 7

36:34


Part 2, Chapter 8
Part 2, Chapter 8

35:04


Part 2, Chapter 9
Part 2, Chapter 9

19:40


Part 2, Chapter 10
Part 2, Chapter 10

28:36


Part 2, Chapter 11
Part 2, Chapter 11

08:12


Part 2, Chapter 12
Part 2, Chapter 12

30:17


Part 2, Chapter 13
Part 2, Chapter 13

20:02


Part 2, Chapter 14
Part 2, Chapter 14

12:44


Part 2, Chapter 15
Part 2, Chapter 15

19:25


Part 2, Chapter 16
Part 2, Chapter 16

20:38


Part 2, Chapter 17
Part 2, Chapter 17

30:51


Part 2, Chapter 18
Part 2, Chapter 18

44:25


Part 3, Chapter 19
Part 3, Chapter 19

54:40


Part 3, Chapter 20
Part 3, Chapter 20

30:54


Part 3, Chapter 21
Part 3, Chapter 21

16:27


Part 3, Chapter 22
Part 3, Chapter 22

29:52


Part 3, Chapter 23
Part 3, Chapter 23

23:46


Part 3, Chapter 24
Part 3, Chapter 24

27:28


Part 3, Chapter 25
Part 3, Chapter 25

28:34


Part 3, Chapter 26
Part 3, Chapter 26

12:56


Part 3, Chapter 27
Part 3, Chapter 27

05:45


Part 4, Chapter 28
Part 4, Chapter 28

41:34


Part 4, Chapter 29
Part 4, Chapter 29

07:19


Part 4, Chapter 30
Part 4, Chapter 30

00:29