The Political Mind - Why You Can't Understand 21st-century American Politics With an 18th-century Brain-logo

The Political Mind - Why You Can't Understand 21st-century American Politics With an 18th-century Brain

George Lakoff

In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why. As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain-and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another-or building a whole new narrative altogether-can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body-it's the same thing. But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it. This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why. As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain-and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another-or building a whole new narrative altogether-can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body-it's the same thing. But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it. This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.
More Information

Description:

In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why. As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain-and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another-or building a whole new narrative altogether-can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body-it's the same thing. But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it. This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

Language:

English

Narrators:

Kent Cassella

Length:

8h 31m


Chapters

Introduction
Introduction

32:24


Part 1, Chapter 1
Part 1, Chapter 1

50:22


Part 1, Chapter 2
Part 1, Chapter 2

01:08:53


Part 1, Chapter 3
Part 1, Chapter 3

34:26


Part 1, Chapter 4
Part 1, Chapter 4

32:13


Part 2, Chapter 5
Part 2, Chapter 5

19:47


Part 2, Chapter 6
Part 2, Chapter 6

16:11


Part 2, Chapter 7
Part 2, Chapter 7

23:51


Part 2, Chapter 8
Part 2, Chapter 8

26:23


Part 2, Chapter 9
Part 2, Chapter 9

07:25


Part 2, Chapter 10
Part 2, Chapter 10

08:42


Part 2, Chapter 11
Part 2, Chapter 11

14:27


Part 2, Chapter 12
Part 2, Chapter 12

27:50


Part 3, Chapter 13
Part 3, Chapter 13

13:40


Part 3, Chapter 14
Part 3, Chapter 14

13:41


Part 3, Chapter 15
Part 3, Chapter 15

27:16


Part 3, Chapter 16
Part 3, Chapter 16

14:13


Part 3, Chapter 17
Part 3, Chapter 17

22:34


Part 3, Chapter 18
Part 3, Chapter 18

48:20


Part 3, Chapter 19
Part 3, Chapter 19

08:37


Part 3, Chapter 20
Part 3, Chapter 20

00:28