The Promise of Home - A Mill River Novel-logo

The Promise of Home - A Mill River Novel

Darcie Chan

Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship-and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches. These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hive of activity. Karen Cooper bids farewell to her husband, Nick, as he leaves for Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to beloved nonagenarian Father O'Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding-until a new acquaintance threatens their romance. Emily DiSanti, haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All these lives-and the lives of others in this small town-move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. And when a cache of letters is discovered, a powerful and unexpected secret comes to light-one rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime priest who has touched the lives of everyone in Mill River. Praise for The Promise of Home "Chan has once again told a mesmerizing tale about how difficult yet beautiful navigating the river of life can be. This author is, quite simply, an amazing storyteller."-Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star "Difficult to put down . . . [a] celebration of the healing power of community."-Booklist "Who better to satisfy [summer] reader cravings than Darcie Chan. . . . Read on-and keep turning those pages [until you] find yourself looking forward to Darcie Chan's next novel. Whew."-Hudson Valley News "This serene backdrop is the perfect juxtaposition to the internal turmoil of Karen Cooper. Together the townsfolk make a well-rounded novel full of desperation, hope and redemption. This is a beautiful addition to the Mill River series, yet also reads well as a stand-alone novel."-RT Book Reviews "[A] layere

Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship-and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches. These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hive of activity. Karen Cooper bids farewell to her husband, Nick, as he leaves for Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to beloved nonagenarian Father O'Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding-until a new acquaintance threatens their romance. Emily DiSanti, haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All these lives-and the lives of others in this small town-move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. And when a cache of letters is discovered, a powerful and unexpected secret comes to light-one rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime priest who has touched the lives of everyone in Mill River. Praise for The Promise of Home "Chan has once again told a mesmerizing tale about how difficult yet beautiful navigating the river of life can be. This author is, quite simply, an amazing storyteller."-Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star "Difficult to put down . . . [a] celebration of the healing power of community."-Booklist "Who better to satisfy [summer] reader cravings than Darcie Chan. . . . Read on-and keep turning those pages [until you] find yourself looking forward to Darcie Chan's next novel. Whew."-Hudson Valley News "This serene backdrop is the perfect juxtaposition to the internal turmoil of Karen Cooper. Together the townsfolk make a well-rounded novel full of desperation, hope and redemption. This is a beautiful addition to the Mill River series, yet also reads well as a stand-alone novel."-RT Book Reviews "[A] layere
More Information

Description:

Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns readers to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship-and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches. These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hive of activity. Karen Cooper bids farewell to her husband, Nick, as he leaves for Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to beloved nonagenarian Father O'Brien for counsel. Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding-until a new acquaintance threatens their romance. Emily DiSanti, haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload. All these lives-and the lives of others in this small town-move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. And when a cache of letters is discovered, a powerful and unexpected secret comes to light-one rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime priest who has touched the lives of everyone in Mill River. Praise for The Promise of Home "Chan has once again told a mesmerizing tale about how difficult yet beautiful navigating the river of life can be. This author is, quite simply, an amazing storyteller."-Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star "Difficult to put down . . . [a] celebration of the healing power of community."-Booklist "Who better to satisfy [summer] reader cravings than Darcie Chan. . . . Read on-and keep turning those pages [until you] find yourself looking forward to Darcie Chan's next novel. Whew."-Hudson Valley News "This serene backdrop is the perfect juxtaposition to the internal turmoil of Karen Cooper. Together the townsfolk make a well-rounded novel full of desperation, hope and redemption. This is a beautiful addition to the Mill River series, yet also reads well as a stand-alone novel."-RT Book Reviews "[A] layere

Language:

English

Narrators:

Amy Rubinate

Length:

11h 30m


Chapters

Free Sample

04:50

Introduction
Introduction

00:13


Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:08


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

04:49


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

05:08


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

04:28


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

04:40


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

03:40


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

04:58


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

04:44


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

04:50


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

04:39


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:25


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

04:33


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

04:36


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

04:39


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

05:36


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

05:27


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

05:35


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

03:09


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

03:24


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

04:50


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

05:09


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

04:33


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

04:37


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

04:10


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

04:09


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

04:57


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

04:55


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

05:35


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

03:47


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

05:09


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

04:59


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

05:44


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

04:48


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

03:42


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

05:13


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

05:09


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

04:56


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

05:00


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

05:14


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

05:25


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

05:06


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

05:44


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

05:13


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

05:06


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

05:25


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

05:59


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:24


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

04:25


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

04:13


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

05:50


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

04:23


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

04:55


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

05:48


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

05:00


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

05:23


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

04:27


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

04:43


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

04:47


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

05:09


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

05:07


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

05:44


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

05:10


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

05:40


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

04:43


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

03:32


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

06:06


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

05:12


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

04:26


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

05:01


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

04:49


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

05:14


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

06:16


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

05:48


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

04:50


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

05:04


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

04:59


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

05:01


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

05:11


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

05:08


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

03:09


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

05:09


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

04:26


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

04:37


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

04:31


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

04:17


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

05:15


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

04:46


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

04:44


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

04:35


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

05:00


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

04:46


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

05:14


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

04:45


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

05:20


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

03:22


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

03:03


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

04:06


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

04:08


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

04:12


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

05:14


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

04:26


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

04:40


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

04:27


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

04:31


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

05:24


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

04:22


Chapter 107
Chapter 107

05:32


Chapter 108
Chapter 108

05:46


Chapter 109
Chapter 109

04:46


Chapter 110
Chapter 110

04:56


Chapter 111
Chapter 111

05:25


Chapter 112
Chapter 112

04:54


Chapter 113
Chapter 113

03:28


Chapter 114
Chapter 114

04:25


Chapter 115
Chapter 115

05:10


Chapter 116
Chapter 116

04:55


Chapter 117
Chapter 117

05:39


Chapter 118
Chapter 118

04:00


Chapter 119
Chapter 119

04:20


Chapter 120
Chapter 120

04:53


Chapter 121
Chapter 121

03:54


Chapter 122
Chapter 122

04:29


Chapter 123
Chapter 123

03:25


Chapter 124
Chapter 124

04:11


Chapter 125
Chapter 125

04:01


Chapter 126
Chapter 126

05:33


Chapter 127
Chapter 127

05:20


Chapter 128
Chapter 128

04:52


Chapter 129
Chapter 129

04:41


Chapter 130
Chapter 130

02:23


Chapter 131
Chapter 131

05:38


Chapter 132
Chapter 132

04:07


Chapter 133
Chapter 133

05:38


Chapter 134
Chapter 134

04:39


Chapter 135
Chapter 135

04:52


Chapter 136
Chapter 136

04:38


Chapter 137
Chapter 137

04:58


Chapter 138
Chapter 138

05:20


Chapter 139
Chapter 139

04:49


Chapter 140
Chapter 140

05:08


Chapter 141
Chapter 141

05:15


Chapter 142
Chapter 142

04:42


Chapter 143
Chapter 143

05:48


Chapter 144
Chapter 144

06:10


Chapter 145
Chapter 145

00:28