Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Unlimited Audiobooks
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
The Quick - A Novel-logo

The Quick - A Novel

Lauren Owen

For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England. In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction's most dazzling talents. Praise for The Quick "A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist."—Kate Atkinson "A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun."—The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice) "The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing."—The Dallas Morning News "The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel."—The Economist "A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination."—Tana French, author of In the Woods "A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day."—Minneapolis Star Tribune "Stylishly sinister . . . will have y

For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England. In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction's most dazzling talents. Praise for The Quick "A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist."—Kate Atkinson "A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun."—The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice) "The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing."—The Dallas Morning News "The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel."—The Economist "A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination."—Tana French, author of In the Woods "A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day."—Minneapolis Star Tribune "Stylishly sinister . . . will have y
More Information

Description:

For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England. In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction's most dazzling talents. Praise for The Quick "A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist."—Kate Atkinson "A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun."—The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice) "The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing."—The Dallas Morning News "The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel."—The Economist "A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination."—Tana French, author of In the Woods "A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day."—Minneapolis Star Tribune "Stylishly sinister . . . will have y

Language:

English

Narrators:

Simon Slater

Length:

18h 49m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:14


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

03:40


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

09:09


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

07:16


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:53


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

08:37


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

09:09


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

08:31


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

07:56


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

09:03


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

07:01


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

07:56


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

07:35


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

08:45


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

08:16


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

08:48


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

06:29


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

06:42


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

07:07


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

06:13


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

07:59


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

07:55


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

09:25


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

07:29


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

07:26


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

08:05


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

08:02


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

06:50


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

06:24


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

07:19


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

08:05


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

07:13


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

06:20


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

06:46


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

06:59


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

09:01


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

09:34


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

08:52


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

09:32


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

07:38


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

06:41


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

08:32


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

09:50


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

07:50


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

06:05


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

07:49


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

08:25


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

08:03


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

09:11


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

09:50


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

07:14


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

04:35


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

08:50


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

09:16


Chapter 55
Chapter 55

08:48


Chapter 56
Chapter 56

08:50


Chapter 57
Chapter 57

07:08


Chapter 58
Chapter 58

08:29


Chapter 59
Chapter 59

08:44


Chapter 60
Chapter 60

06:46


Chapter 61
Chapter 61

08:27


Chapter 62
Chapter 62

07:55


Chapter 63
Chapter 63

09:10


Chapter 64
Chapter 64

08:20


Chapter 65
Chapter 65

08:51


Chapter 66
Chapter 66

09:29


Chapter 67
Chapter 67

07:41


Chapter 68
Chapter 68

08:41


Chapter 69
Chapter 69

07:57


Chapter 70
Chapter 70

10:36


Chapter 71
Chapter 71

09:37


Chapter 72
Chapter 72

09:15


Chapter 73
Chapter 73

08:26


Chapter 74
Chapter 74

07:43


Chapter 75
Chapter 75

08:03


Chapter 76
Chapter 76

07:03


Chapter 77
Chapter 77

06:49


Chapter 78
Chapter 78

07:45


Chapter 79
Chapter 79

07:46


Chapter 80
Chapter 80

08:21


Chapter 81
Chapter 81

08:17


Chapter 82
Chapter 82

09:14


Chapter 83
Chapter 83

02:24


Chapter 84
Chapter 84

08:52


Chapter 85
Chapter 85

08:07


Chapter 86
Chapter 86

06:53


Chapter 87
Chapter 87

07:55


Chapter 88
Chapter 88

07:55


Chapter 89
Chapter 89

08:11


Chapter 90
Chapter 90

08:00


Chapter 91
Chapter 91

08:29


Chapter 92
Chapter 92

07:12


Chapter 93
Chapter 93

08:24


Chapter 94
Chapter 94

08:15


Chapter 95
Chapter 95

02:31


Chapter 96
Chapter 96

07:47


Chapter 97
Chapter 97

07:52


Chapter 98
Chapter 98

09:06


Chapter 99
Chapter 99

05:42


Chapter 100
Chapter 100

08:37


Chapter 101
Chapter 101

06:37


Chapter 102
Chapter 102

08:02


Chapter 103
Chapter 103

09:53


Chapter 104
Chapter 104

08:11


Chapter 105
Chapter 105

07:10


Chapter 106
Chapter 106

08:25


Chapter 107
Chapter 107

09:01


Chapter 108
Chapter 108

10:07


Chapter 109
Chapter 109

08:43


Chapter 110
Chapter 110

08:29


Chapter 111
Chapter 111

08:30


Chapter 112
Chapter 112

08:36


Chapter 113
Chapter 113

08:30


Chapter 114
Chapter 114

08:25


Chapter 115
Chapter 115

10:29


Chapter 116
Chapter 116

10:11


Chapter 117
Chapter 117

09:39


Chapter 118
Chapter 118

07:31


Chapter 119
Chapter 119

08:32


Chapter 120
Chapter 120

08:11


Chapter 121
Chapter 121

08:56


Chapter 122
Chapter 122

06:02


Chapter 123
Chapter 123

05:52


Chapter 124
Chapter 124

06:21


Chapter 125
Chapter 125

05:57


Chapter 126
Chapter 126

03:44


Chapter 127
Chapter 127

07:20


Chapter 128
Chapter 128

06:58


Chapter 129
Chapter 129

06:38


Chapter 130
Chapter 130

08:09


Chapter 131
Chapter 131

09:31


Chapter 132
Chapter 132

09:22


Chapter 133
Chapter 133

07:17


Chapter 134
Chapter 134

08:36


Chapter 135
Chapter 135

08:16


Chapter 136
Chapter 136

08:24


Chapter 137
Chapter 137

08:15


Chapter 138
Chapter 138

09:00


Chapter 139
Chapter 139

08:22


Chapter 140
Chapter 140

08:47


Chapter 141
Chapter 141

07:39


Chapter 142
Chapter 142

07:19


Chapter 143
Chapter 143

07:56


Chapter 144
Chapter 144

00:22