Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads
The Rules Do Not Apply-logo

The Rules Do Not Apply

Ariel Levy

A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention-for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion When thirty-eight-year-old New Yorker writer Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true. Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules-about work, about love, and about womanhood. "I wanted what we all want: everything. We want a mate who feels like family and a lover who is exotic, surprising. We want to be youthful adventurers and middle-aged mothers. We want intimacy and autonomy, safety and stimulation, reassurance and novelty, coziness and thrills. But we can't have it all." In this profound and beautiful memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being "a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses." Her own story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed-and of what is eternal. Advance praise for The Rules Do Not Apply "I read The Rules Do Not Apply in one long, rapt sitting. Unflinching and intimate, wrenching and revelatory, Ariel Levy's powerful memoir about love, loss, and finding one's way shimmers with truth and heart on every page."-Cheryl Strayed "Every deep feeling a human is capable of will be shaken loose by this profound book. Ariel Levy has taken grief and made art out of it."-David Sedaris "Ariel Levy is a writer of uncompromising honesty, remarkable clarity, and surprising humor gathered from the wreckage of tragedy. Her account of life doing its darnedest to topple her, and her refusal to be knocked down, will leave you shaken and inspired. I am the better for having read this book."-Lena Dunham "A great memoir is not a trip through someone else's life but a series of long looks int

A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention-for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion When thirty-eight-year-old New Yorker writer Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true. Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules-about work, about love, and about womanhood. "I wanted what we all want: everything. We want a mate who feels like family and a lover who is exotic, surprising. We want to be youthful adventurers and middle-aged mothers. We want intimacy and autonomy, safety and stimulation, reassurance and novelty, coziness and thrills. But we can't have it all." In this profound and beautiful memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being "a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses." Her own story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed-and of what is eternal. Advance praise for The Rules Do Not Apply "I read The Rules Do Not Apply in one long, rapt sitting. Unflinching and intimate, wrenching and revelatory, Ariel Levy's powerful memoir about love, loss, and finding one's way shimmers with truth and heart on every page."-Cheryl Strayed "Every deep feeling a human is capable of will be shaken loose by this profound book. Ariel Levy has taken grief and made art out of it."-David Sedaris "Ariel Levy is a writer of uncompromising honesty, remarkable clarity, and surprising humor gathered from the wreckage of tragedy. Her account of life doing its darnedest to topple her, and her refusal to be knocked down, will leave you shaken and inspired. I am the better for having read this book."-Lena Dunham "A great memoir is not a trip through someone else's life but a series of long looks int
More Information

Description:

A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention-for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion When thirty-eight-year-old New Yorker writer Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true. Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules-about work, about love, and about womanhood. "I wanted what we all want: everything. We want a mate who feels like family and a lover who is exotic, surprising. We want to be youthful adventurers and middle-aged mothers. We want intimacy and autonomy, safety and stimulation, reassurance and novelty, coziness and thrills. But we can't have it all." In this profound and beautiful memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being "a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses." Her own story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed-and of what is eternal. Advance praise for The Rules Do Not Apply "I read The Rules Do Not Apply in one long, rapt sitting. Unflinching and intimate, wrenching and revelatory, Ariel Levy's powerful memoir about love, loss, and finding one's way shimmers with truth and heart on every page."-Cheryl Strayed "Every deep feeling a human is capable of will be shaken loose by this profound book. Ariel Levy has taken grief and made art out of it."-David Sedaris "Ariel Levy is a writer of uncompromising honesty, remarkable clarity, and surprising humor gathered from the wreckage of tragedy. Her account of life doing its darnedest to topple her, and her refusal to be knocked down, will leave you shaken and inspired. I am the better for having read this book."-Lena Dunham "A great memoir is not a trip through someone else's life but a series of long looks int

Language:

English

Length:

4h 54m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:12


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:08


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

03:44


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

09:08


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

06:15


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

05:23


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

07:12


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

06:27


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

05:18


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

06:29


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

06:48


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

05:44


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

07:23


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

07:26


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

02:26


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

07:01


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

06:50


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

06:47


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

05:52


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

04:18


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

06:51


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

05:15


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

05:30


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

06:01


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

05:19


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

08:53


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

08:02


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

05:17


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

09:03


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

05:56


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

05:27


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

05:10


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

07:19


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

08:40


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

06:05


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

05:12


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

08:18


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

02:02


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

06:58


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

04:18


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

07:22


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

07:11


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

04:01


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

03:16


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

05:10


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

05:28


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:45


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

07:44


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

03:17


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

05:40


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

02:03


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

01:54


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

00:26