This Census-Taker-logo

This Census-Taker

China Miéville

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries-and fails-to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity. Praise for This Census-Taker "China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it's like he's writing with diamonds."-NPR "The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision."-Los Angeles Review of Books "[Mieville's] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so."-The Huffington Post "Marvellous."-The Guardian "Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream."-Financial Times "A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser."-Booklist "Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul."-Kirkus Reviews

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries-and fails-to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity. Praise for This Census-Taker "China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it's like he's writing with diamonds."-NPR "The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision."-Los Angeles Review of Books "[Mieville's] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so."-The Huffington Post "Marvellous."-The Guardian "Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream."-Financial Times "A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser."-Booklist "Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul."-Kirkus Reviews
More Information

Description:

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries-and fails-to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity. Praise for This Census-Taker "China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it's like he's writing with diamonds."-NPR "The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision."-Los Angeles Review of Books "[Mieville's] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so."-The Huffington Post "Marvellous."-The Guardian "Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream."-Financial Times "A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser."-Booklist "Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul."-Kirkus Reviews

Language:

English

Narrators:

Matthew Frow

Length:

4h 3m


Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

00:13


Chapter 2
Chapter 2

00:39


Chapter 3
Chapter 3

03:28


Chapter 4
Chapter 4

04:05


Chapter 5
Chapter 5

03:08


Chapter 6
Chapter 6

05:02


Chapter 7
Chapter 7

03:41


Chapter 8
Chapter 8

08:33


Chapter 9
Chapter 9

01:56


Chapter 10
Chapter 10

04:36


Chapter 11
Chapter 11

04:48


Chapter 12
Chapter 12

04:10


Chapter 13
Chapter 13

05:32


Chapter 14
Chapter 14

05:52


Chapter 15
Chapter 15

06:10


Chapter 16
Chapter 16

06:35


Chapter 17
Chapter 17

03:01


Chapter 18
Chapter 18

04:56


Chapter 19
Chapter 19

05:08


Chapter 20
Chapter 20

08:12


Chapter 21
Chapter 21

04:57


Chapter 22
Chapter 22

01:22


Chapter 23
Chapter 23

07:28


Chapter 24
Chapter 24

03:18


Chapter 25
Chapter 25

03:25


Chapter 26
Chapter 26

05:47


Chapter 27
Chapter 27

05:10


Chapter 28
Chapter 28

02:46


Chapter 29
Chapter 29

03:23


Chapter 30
Chapter 30

04:45


Chapter 31
Chapter 31

04:16


Chapter 32
Chapter 32

06:05


Chapter 33
Chapter 33

05:21


Chapter 34
Chapter 34

07:03


Chapter 35
Chapter 35

04:20


Chapter 36
Chapter 36

03:19


Chapter 37
Chapter 37

07:12


Chapter 38
Chapter 38

06:31


Chapter 39
Chapter 39

05:27


Chapter 40
Chapter 40

03:22


Chapter 41
Chapter 41

06:36


Chapter 42
Chapter 42

07:07


Chapter 43
Chapter 43

04:31


Chapter 44
Chapter 44

04:45


Chapter 45
Chapter 45

04:28


Chapter 46
Chapter 46

05:43


Chapter 47
Chapter 47

04:46


Chapter 48
Chapter 48

04:28


Chapter 49
Chapter 49

03:56


Chapter 50
Chapter 50

05:39


Chapter 51
Chapter 51

01:50


Chapter 52
Chapter 52

01:58


Chapter 53
Chapter 53

01:43


Chapter 54
Chapter 54

00:31