AMI Audiobook Review-logo

AMI Audiobook Review

Arts & Culture Podcasts

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Location:

Canada

Description:

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Language:

English


Episodes

Episode 56: Sometimes, it takes two

9/24/2022
Aamer Khan highlights co-authored books, and shares a unique example of group-writing, in which one author picked up the end of another writer's beginning.

Duration:00:26:27

Episode 55: Books in different languages,

9/17/2022
Can books feel lost in translation? We hear from Peter Tsatsanis, Host of Peter's Book Club, who expresses his love for reading books in other languages.

Duration:00:26:10

Episode 54: Scott Brick highlights

9/10/2022
On Know Your Narrator, Sara Hillis highlights Scott Brick, who started his voice career in 1999, and is now Audible's "most prolific narrator." We find out where it all started for him.

Duration:00:25:40

Episode 53: The Aurora Awards

9/3/2022
Karen McKay and Theresa Power, from the Centre for Equitable Library Access, feature titles from the Fantasy genre, recognized from this year's Aurora Awards.

Duration:00:26:39

Episode 52: True Crime Titles

8/27/2022
How often do we check out True Crime in books, rather than podcasts or TV series? Aamer Khan takes us through his thoughts on the subject. Plus, he reviews Unmasked: My Life Solving America's Cold Cases, by Paul Holes.

Duration:00:25:59

Episode 51: This is how books leave marks

8/20/2022
Embers, by Richard Wagamese, is a title that has left a huge mark on Melanie Marsden. We learn why. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on All the things we don't talk about, By Amy Feltman.

Duration:00:26:16

Episode 50: Davina Porter highlights

8/13/2022
Let's get to another Know Your Narrator feature, with Sara Hillis. Today we discuss one of Sara's all-time favourite voices, Davina Porter, best recognized for her work in the Outlander series.

Duration:00:27:06

Episode 49: Books being converted to film and TV shows

8/6/2022
Karen McKay and Theresa Power from the Centre for Equitable Library Access feature books being converted to film and TV shows. Plus, we discuss the Stephen Leacock short list and the Booker prize nominees for 2022.

Duration:00:26:19

Episode 48: Last Saturday of July, end it with romance

7/30/2022
Though it’s impossible, AMI Content Development Specialist Karen Magee tries her best to pick her favourite book. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on River of the gods, By Candice Millard.

Duration:00:25:09

Episode 47: A Contemporary Romance

7/23/2022
Let’s put families on top! Aamer Khan highlights family-friendly titles, and some serious reads focusing on family dynamics. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the Contemporary Romance title, You made a fool of death with your beauty, By Akwaeke Emezi.

Duration:00:26:19

Episode 46: The Social Distance Between Us

7/16/2022
Jeffery Reiney highlights Darren McGarvy, a rapper, social commentator, and activist, who wrote the title The Social Distance Between Us. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the auto-biography Greenlights, by Matthew McConaughey.

Duration:00:26:22

Episode 45: Know Your Narrator

7/9/2022
Sara Hillis debuts our brand new segment: Know Your Narrator. First up, we feature the classic Recorded Books voice of Frank Muller, known for his recordings of Stephen King novels.

Duration:00:25:10

Episode 44: Popular books and their read-alikes

7/2/2022
We get to major awards and literary news with Karen McKay and Theresa Power, from the Centre for Equitable Library Access. Plus, they feature titles under the theme: Popular books and their read-alikes.

Duration:00:26:00

Episode 43: The Beginning the Middle and The End

6/25/2022
A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier, by Ishmael Beah, is an absorbing account by a young man who gets swept up in Sierra Leone's civil war; we preview this recommendation by George Quarcoo. And, Aamer Khan takes us through the books he’s begun, the series he’s in the midst of, and ones he’s finally about to complete.

Duration:00:25:38

Episode 42: Time flies when you’re driving with an Audiobook

6/18/2022
No matter how busy life gets, Sehdeen Lowe gets her daily dose of Audiobooks in; she highlights some of her top listens. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the title Still just a geek, By Wil Wheaton.

Duration:00:25:20

Episode 41: Rethinking your reads

6/11/2022
Julie Martin has several thought-provoking book recommendations for us. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on Love that story: Observations from a gorgeously queer life, By Jonathan Van Ness.

Duration:00:25:24

Episode 40: Let’s Celebrate Pride Month

6/4/2022
Karen McKay and Theresa Power feature titles written by LGBTQ+ authors for Pride Month. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on The girl in the middle, a Biography by By Anais.

Duration:00:25:21

Episode 39: Slow Down and slow Listen

5/28/2022
Aamr Khan encourages us to take a step back on binge-listening, and slow down the pace for an intentional, unhurried experience. Plus, We highlight Asian Heritage Month with this week’s Pause or Play; The Book of Form and Emptiness, by Ruth Ozeki.

Duration:00:24:56

Episode 38: The Human Element of Non-fiction Literature

5/21/2022
Avid reader Kathrine Vatcher gives us her recommendation of a non-fiction favorite in her library, and explains her fascination of reading real-life stories. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the Romance title Sari, not sari, By Sonya Singh.

Duration:00:26:06

Episode 37: Historical fiction

5/14/2022
Does the clarity of audio make or break your listening experience? We talk through this question with Host of Mushroom FM, Sara Hillis. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the Historical Fiction title Her Hidden Genius, By Marie Benedict.

Duration:00:26:03