AMI Audiobook Review

Arts & Culture Podcasts

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Location:

Canada

Description:

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Language:

English


Episodes

Episode 74: Book goals for 2023

2/4/2023
How do last year's reading goals affect our goals of 2023? Let's get into setting book goals with Karen McKay and Theresa Power from the Centre for Equitable Library Access.

Duration:00:26:01

Episode 73: Highlighting authors

1/28/2023
Inspiration is everything. Aamer Khan highlights three authors, their popular works, and the related background experiences that seep into the authors' writing of these works.

Duration:00:26:01

Episode 72: Library lending

1/21/2023
We welcome Em Williams, Supervisor for Media Accessibility at AMI. She recommends Demystifying Disability, by Emily Ladau, a welcoming read for anyone new to disability conversation.

Duration:00:26:01

Episode 71: January LeVoy

1/14/2023
Sara Hillis features one of the Golden Voices of Audiophile Magazine, January LeVoy - an actress turned versatile audiobook storyteller, on Know Your Narrator.

Duration:00:26:29

Episode 70: Celebrity memoirs

1/7/2023
Do we enjoy getting a peak into influencers' lives? To kick off our first conversation of 2023, we dive into celebrity memoirs, with Karen McKay and Theresa Power from the Centre for Equitable Library Access. We highlight Spare by Prince Harry, Surrender: 40 songs, one story by Bono, Michelle Obama's Becoming, and other life accounts, written and read by the author.

Duration:00:26:25

Episode 69: Top audiobook picks of 2022

12/31/2022
Friends, we've dedicated this entire episode to featuring your top audiobook picks of 2022. We chat with lovely individuals on this show every week, members of the blind and low vision community, allies and friends, avid audiobook listeners and book lovers of all kinds, all over Canada. All year, we've opened up the space to review, discuss, recommend, browse, conceptualize and reminisce on Audiobooks. Now, let's shout out the books that have stuck with you through the year, making it on...

Duration:00:26:28

Episode 68: How books can take you places

12/24/2022
Today's theme is Immersive Reading: how books can take you places.

Duration:00:26:30

Episode 67: Pal Reading Services

12/17/2022
Danielle McLaughlin is the President of Pal Reading Services. She speaks to the important work done by the organization. Plus, Danielle highlights Olive Kitterdge, by Elizabeth Strout, one of many reads she's currently enjoying.

Duration:00:26:44

Episode 66: Know Your Narrator - Simon Vance

12/10/2022
On Know Your Narrator, Sara Hillis features Simon Vance, a narrator who's lent his voice to every kind of title you can imagine.

Duration:00:26:29

Episode 65: CELA Holiday Cheer

12/3/2022
Notable literary awards were handed out in November. We review the winners and prizes with Karen McKay and Theresa Power from the Centre for Equitable Library Access. Plus, we feature new Christmas books available on the CELA Library for your listening.

Duration:00:26:08

Episode 64: Mystery, Romance and some Real Confusion

11/26/2022
Aamer Khan reflects on his month of audiobook listening as "Mystery, romance and some real confusion." We dive into these categories with him. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the police procedural fiction, titled Blackwater Falls, by Ausma Zehanat Khan.

Duration:00:26:31

Episode 63: The Graphic Novels Project

11/19/2022
Our guest this week is Joeita Gupta, Host of The Pulse on AMI-audio. We dissect the translation of Graphic Novels into audio formats, and compare our perspectives to those of Rhianna McGregor Hajzer, an Accessibility Tester with CELA's Graphic Novels Project.

Duration:00:25:45

Episode 62: Know Your Narrator - Dick Hill

11/12/2022
In October, 2022, we lost one of the great narrators of our time, Dick Hill. Sara Hillis tributes this month's Know Your Narrator to his 30-year vocal career.

Duration:00:26:28

Episode 61: Transgender Awareness Month

11/5/2022
Karen McKay and Theresa Power highlight the Governor General’s Awards shortlists announced recently. Plus, we feature books in recognition of Transgender Awareness Month.

Duration:00:25:50

Episode 60: Toronto Book Awards

10/31/2022
Aamer Khan visited the Toronto Book Awards! He reviews the walks and talks he engaged in with authors. Plus, we catch up on Aamer's ongoing book count for 2022, which has just reached a milestone!

Duration:00:26:00

Episode 59: The Audiobook Industry

10/29/2022
We welcome Andy Frank, Manager of AMI-audio, for his insights on the industry of audiobooks and where listening is headed. We hit Pause or Play on the True Crime book, The case of the murderous Dr. Cream, By Dean Jobb.

Duration:00:26:01

Episode 58: Finding ourselves in others' stories

10/15/2022
Rozina Issani shares why reading The Doctor will not see you now, by Jane Paulson, left such a significant mark on her. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the adventure tale, Ashfall prophecy, By Pittacus Lore.

Duration:00:26:00

Episode 57: The Voice Behind Harry Potter Audiobooks, Jim Dale

10/8/2022
Jim Dale's narration of the Harry Potter audiobook series holds the top six places in the top ten audiobooks in America and Canada. Sara Hillis introduces us to the man behind the voice, on Know Your Narrator.

Duration:00:26:00

Episode 56: Sometimes, it takes two

9/24/2022
Aamer Khan highlights co-authored books, and shares a unique example of group-writing, in which one author picked up the end of another writer's beginning.

Duration:00:26:27

Episode 55: Books in different languages,

9/17/2022
Can books feel lost in translation? We hear from Peter Tsatsanis, Host of Peter's Book Club, who expresses his love for reading books in other languages.

Duration:00:26:10