AMI Audiobook Review-logo

AMI Audiobook Review

Arts & Culture Podcasts

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Location:

Canada

Description:

Hosted by Ramya Amuthan and Nisreen Abdel-Majid, the AMI Audiobook Review lets you know about great new content in the audiobook realm with help from authors, listeners and regular contributors.

Language:

English


Episodes

Episode 64: mystery, romance and some real confusion

11/26/2022
Aamer Khan reflects on his month of audiobook listening as "Mystery, romance, and some Real confusion." We dive into these categories with him. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the Police Procedural fiction, titled Blackwater falls, by Ausma Zehanat Khan.

Duration:00:26:31

Episode 63: The Graphic Novels Project

11/19/2022
Our guest this week is Joeita Gupta, Host of The Pulse on AMI-audio. We dissect the translation of Graphic Novels into audio formats, and compare our perspectives to those of Rhianna McGregor Hajzer, an Accessibility Tester with CELA's Graphic Novels Project.

Duration:00:25:45

Episode 62: Know Your Narrator - Dick Hill

11/12/2022
In October, 2022, we lost one of the great narrators of our time, Dick Hill. Sara Hillis tributes this month's Know Your Narrator to his 30-year vocal career.

Duration:00:26:28

Episode 61: Transgender Awareness Month

11/5/2022
Karen McKay and Theresa Power highlight the Governor General’s Awards shortlists announced recently. Plus, we feature books in recognition of Transgender Awareness Month.

Duration:00:25:50

Episode 60: Toronto Book Awards

10/31/2022
Aamer Khan visited the Toronto Book Awards! He reviews the walks and talks he engaged in with authors. Plus, we catch up on Aamer's ongoing book count for 2022, which has just reached a milestone!

Duration:00:26:00

Episode 59: The Audiobook Industry

10/29/2022
We welcome Andy Frank, Manager of AMI-audio, for his insights on the industry of audiobooks and where listening is headed. We hit Pause or Play on the True Crime book, The case of the murderous Dr. Cream, By Dean Jobb.

Duration:00:26:01

Episode 58: Finding ourselves in others' stories

10/15/2022
Rozina Issani shares why reading The Doctor will not see you now, by Jane Paulson, left such a significant mark on her. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the adventure tale, Ashfall prophecy, By Pittacus Lore.

Duration:00:26:00

Episode 57: The Voice Behind Harry Potter Audiobooks, Jim Dale

10/8/2022
Jim Dale's narration of the Harry Potter audiobook series holds the top six places in the top ten audiobooks in America and Canada. Sara Hillis introduces us to the man behind the voice, on Know Your Narrator.

Duration:00:26:00

Episode 56: Sometimes, it takes two

9/24/2022
Aamer Khan highlights co-authored books, and shares a unique example of group-writing, in which one author picked up the end of another writer's beginning.

Duration:00:26:27

Episode 55: Books in different languages,

9/17/2022
Can books feel lost in translation? We hear from Peter Tsatsanis, Host of Peter's Book Club, who expresses his love for reading books in other languages.

Duration:00:26:10

Episode 54: Scott Brick highlights

9/10/2022
On Know Your Narrator, Sara Hillis highlights Scott Brick, who started his voice career in 1999, and is now Audible's "most prolific narrator." We find out where it all started for him.

Duration:00:25:40

Episode 53: The Aurora Awards

9/3/2022
Karen McKay and Theresa Power, from the Centre for Equitable Library Access, feature titles from the Fantasy genre, recognized from this year's Aurora Awards.

Duration:00:26:39

Episode 52: True Crime Titles

8/27/2022
How often do we check out True Crime in books, rather than podcasts or TV series? Aamer Khan takes us through his thoughts on the subject. Plus, he reviews Unmasked: My Life Solving America's Cold Cases, by Paul Holes.

Duration:00:25:59

Episode 51: This is how books leave marks

8/20/2022
Embers, by Richard Wagamese, is a title that has left a huge mark on Melanie Marsden. We learn why. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on All the things we don't talk about, By Amy Feltman.

Duration:00:26:16

Episode 50: Davina Porter highlights

8/13/2022
Let's get to another Know Your Narrator feature, with Sara Hillis. Today we discuss one of Sara's all-time favourite voices, Davina Porter, best recognized for her work in the Outlander series.

Duration:00:27:06

Episode 49: Books being converted to film and TV shows

8/6/2022
Karen McKay and Theresa Power from the Centre for Equitable Library Access feature books being converted to film and TV shows. Plus, we discuss the Stephen Leacock short list and the Booker prize nominees for 2022.

Duration:00:26:19

Episode 48: Last Saturday of July, end it with romance

7/30/2022
Though it’s impossible, AMI Content Development Specialist Karen Magee tries her best to pick her favourite book. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on River of the gods, By Candice Millard.

Duration:00:25:09

Episode 47: A Contemporary Romance

7/23/2022
Let’s put families on top! Aamer Khan highlights family-friendly titles, and some serious reads focusing on family dynamics. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the Contemporary Romance title, You made a fool of death with your beauty, By Akwaeke Emezi.

Duration:00:26:19

Episode 46: The Social Distance Between Us

7/16/2022
Jeffery Reiney highlights Darren McGarvy, a rapper, social commentator, and activist, who wrote the title The Social Distance Between Us. Plus, we hit Pause or Play on the auto-biography Greenlights, by Matthew McConaughey.

Duration:00:26:22

Episode 45: Know Your Narrator

7/9/2022
Sara Hillis debuts our brand new segment: Know Your Narrator. First up, we feature the classic Recorded Books voice of Frank Muller, known for his recordings of Stephen King novels.

Duration:00:25:10