Spoken Label-logo

Spoken Label

Arts & Culture Podcasts

Spoken Label is a podcast series designed to interview and record sessions from authors, poets, artists, musicians etc in North West England and beyond. Formed in 2015 and ran / edited by Andy N, author of ‘Return to Kemptown’ and ‘The End of Summer’,it is always often to submissions from interested artists. Email: aen1mpo@yahoo.co.uk

Spoken Label is a podcast series designed to interview and record sessions from authors, poets, artists, musicians etc in North West England and beyond. Formed in 2015 and ran / edited by Andy N, author of ‘Return to Kemptown’ and ‘The End of Summer’,it is always often to submissions from interested artists. Email: aen1mpo@yahoo.co.uk

Location:

United Kingdom

Description:

Spoken Label is a podcast series designed to interview and record sessions from authors, poets, artists, musicians etc in North West England and beyond. Formed in 2015 and ran / edited by Andy N, author of ‘Return to Kemptown’ and ‘The End of Summer’,it is always often to submissions from interested artists. Email: aen1mpo@yahoo.co.uk

Twitter:

@aen1mpo

Language:

English

Contact:

07947959908


Episodes

Vironika Wilde (Spoken Label, June 2021)

6/20/2021
Today's latest Spoken Label features the wonderful Vironika Wilde. Vironika also known as Vironika Tugaleva is a poet, feminist, award-winning author, nomad, queer, cat fanatic, immigrant, survivor, tree hugger, and activist. She was born in Donetsk, Ukraine and has Russian indigenous (Tatar and Nagaybak) roots. She loves getting lost, looking at the stars, dancing, and eating pickles (sometimes, all at once). In this session, we talk about her start as a artist to her debut poetry book...

Duration:00:58:51

Jack Horner (Spoken Label, June 2021)

6/14/2021
Latest Podcast is from the excellent Jack Horner (aka Leon the Pig Farmer). Poems read out in this session include: 1. Parole 2. The beat goes on 3. Even a monkey falls from a tree 4. Flashback 5. Devil in my shoes Some useful links for Jack...

Duration:00:46:31

Conor Bredin (Spoken Label, June 2021)

6/10/2021
Latest Spoken Label podcast features the wonderful Conor Bredlin, author of the 'Stolen Dagger' and 'the longest night'. Conor is also the creator / host of the Podcast series Story of a storyteller. More about Conor can be found at: https://www.conorbredin.com/ The second half of this Podcast also includes extracts from both 'Stolen Dagger' and 'the longest night'

Duration:00:42:10

Michelle Cox - Spoken Label, June 2021

6/7/2021
Latest Spoken Label Podcast is with the Author Michelle Cox, author of the Henrietta and Inspector Howard series.as well as “Novel Notes of Local Lore,” a weekly blog dedicated to Chicago’s forgotten residents. She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there." Her series 'Henrietta and Inspector Howard' is described as "“Downton Abbey meets Miss...

Duration:00:40:06

Richard Harries (Spoken Label, June 2021)

6/2/2021
Latest Spoken Label session features the legend that is Richard Harries. More can be found out about Richard can be found at: http://www.stairwellbooks.co.uk/product/awakening/ (Details of Richard's book) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edxXGVmqBvQ (Video of Richard's book launch) https://www.youtube.com/user/RCPoems (Richard's Youtube channel) Pieces read out included: 1. On David Bowie passing. 2. Friendship Hotel (Edit required) 3. The headmaster's error 4. A Lesson Learned 5....

Duration:00:49:56

Anne Walsh Donnelly (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/28/2021
Latest up from Spoken Label is the amazing Anne Walsh Donnelly author of "Odd as f&ck" published by Fly on the Wall Press. More about Anne can be found at: https://annewdonnelly.com/ https://www.flyonthewallpress.co.uk/product-page/odd-as-f-ck-by-anne-walsh-donnelly https://twitter.com/AnneWDonnelly (Twitter) https://www.facebook.com/Anne-Walsh-Donnelly-Writer-2220081094726593/ https://www.instagram.com/annewalshdonnellypoetry/ Poems read out in this session include: 1. How...

Duration:00:42:37

Chris Oliver (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/26/2021
Latest up from Spoken Label features from Nottingham the wonderful Chris Oliver. More about Chris can be found at: Instagram - chrisoliver_wordslayer Facebook - Chris Oliver Spoken Word Artist Pieces read out in this session were: 1. Keeping it simple 2. The Calm before the storm 3. Smoke and Mirrors 4. Mount Sinai 5. The Rest of my history

Duration:00:36:49

Cat Lumb (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/21/2021
Latest Spoken Label session features Cat Lumb, Author off "In lies we trust" and "The Memorial tree and other short stories" Her Amazon page is www.amazon.co.uk/Cat-Lumb/e/B07F2M7GCX She can be found on facebook as The Write Catalyst (www.facebook.com/TheWriteCatalyst/) She is on twitter as Cat Lumb on twitter (twitter.com/Cat_Lumb) Her website is catlumb.com Her previous feature on the Sunday Tribune is...

Duration:00:38:06

Poet_rs (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/17/2021
* Contains topics not suitable for all * Latest up for Spoken Label from London is the wonderful Poet_rs. More about R can be found at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtHvZk-_288hMrXrzxwRzFQ https://www.instagram.com/poet_rs/?hl=en-gb Poems read out in this session include: 1. Custody 2. 100 aches in my mind 3. God like

Duration:00:48:25

Stephanie Finegan (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/14/2021
Latest Podcast from Spoken Label is from the wonderful Stephanie Finegan. Stephanie's work has being described by Chinwag Poetry as "Allen Ginsberg’s Howl combined with the feminine power of Kate Bush. A wonderful mix of psychedelic stream of consciousness, urban punk, post-beat poetry, psycho-metaphysics with a bit of Zen thrown in for good fun. A lexical ensemble of wonderful diversity, shot through with eclectic imagery and electric metaphors" More about Stephanie can be found...

Duration:00:50:50

Jo Harker Shaw (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/8/2021
Latest from Spoken Label the excellent Jo Harker Shaw. More about Jo can be read at: harkershaw.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/harkershawpoetry Poems read out in this session include: 1. The word is not enough 2. Morning Song 3. Barefoot child towards the moon 4. Your eyes are never where I want them.

Duration:00:46:36

Stephen Coates (The Real Tuesday Weld) (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/3/2021
Latest Spoken Label session features Stephen Coates from the wonderful The Real Tuesday Weld talking about their new album 'Blood', the first in a final trilogy of new albums that the band will be releasing throughout 2021 into 2022. Stephen Coates formed The Real Tuesday Weld in 2001 (after a dream of the actress Tuesday Weld) pioneering a style he dubbed 'Antique Beat', a combination of old jazz sounds and electronics that was to influence the emerging electro-swing scene. Reluctant...

Duration:00:29:27

Chris Oseman (Spoken Label, May 2021)

5/1/2021
* Contains language and topics not suitable for all * Latest Spoken Label Podcast featuring the most excellent Clive Oseman, co-host of Oh Beehive. More about Clive can be found at: Clive Oseman Spoken Word (Facebook) Clive Oseman (Facebook) Clive_Oseman (twitter) Oseman Clive (Instrgaram) Oh Beehive (Facebook) Poems read out in this session include: 1. The A – Z of Animals (Match of the day edited highlights) 2. Disciple (Also called Tin Foil Hat Poem) 3. Possible...

Duration:00:42:05

Jenn Ashton (Spoken Label, April 2021)

4/27/2021
Latest Spoken Label Podcast is from the wonderful Jenn Ashton, author of "People like Frank and other stories from the edge of normal" The book is described as "A young woman in a group home investigates a mysterious piece of knitting. An obsessed bag boy does grim battle with a squirrel. A woman, an asparagus bag and a garbageman have a tumultuous short-term relationship. In the tradition of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, Room and If I Fall, If I Die, this uplifting...

Duration:00:28:14

Claudia Clark (Spoken Label, April 2021)

4/22/2021
.Latest Spoken Label Podcast features Claudia Clark, the author off "Dear Barack". The book is described as "Dear Barack explores how the relationship between Barack Obama and Dr. Angela Merkel evolved from one of extreme apprehension to one of deep friendship and a partnership that captivated the world. Dear Barack explains why Barack Obama’s and Dr. Angela Merkel’s partnership is so important to today’s world leaders – the transformation of their relationship exemplifies how it is...

Duration:00:25:15

Jason Johns (Spoken Label, April 2021)

4/20/2021
Latest Spoken Label is a chat with Manchester based actor, East 15 Graduate, co-founder of 'Quite Frankly Theatre, Jason Johns. More about Jason can be found at: https://twitter.com/jasonjohns98?lang=en (Twitter) https://www.spotlight.com/4855-6720-3080 (Spotlight)

Duration:00:22:27

Hellena Jane (Spoken Label, April 2021)

4/15/2021
Latest up from Spoken Label is the lovely Hellena Jane, the author off “The Winter of Our Femininity”. The book is described as “Dear reader, you may wonder why this girl should matter to you. You might besaying, why should I, dear narrator, care what this child dressed in women’s clothing does?Well, my dear reader, this girl will soon be dead. If you had twelve hours left oflife, what would you do? What mystic forces and players would you confront? But moreimportantly, most importantly, up...

Duration:00:24:08

Paul Sutherland (Spoken Label, April 2021)

4/10/2021
Latest Spoken Label features the wonderful Paul Sutherland. Poems read out in this session include: 1) my granddaughter battles the sea with a red plastic fork 2) on cola beach 3) special children in car - suzie tank 4) the earth orphaned birds 5) winter falls More about Paul can be found...

Duration:00:37:12

Heige Boehm (Spoken Label, April 2021)

4/5/2021
Latest up from Spoken Label is the wonderful Heige Boehm, author of 'Secrets in the shadows'. Heige is described as "Heige's writing is influenced by the stories of her parents who grew up in Nazi Germany, and who at the end of the war, found themselves in East Germany. They escaped with their first two children to West Berlin in 1961, and Heige was born in Euskirchen West Germany on November 11, 1964. Ten years later the family immigrated to Vancouver, Canada, where they lived at the Sylvia...

Duration:00:38:12

Susan Darlington (Spoken Label, March 2021)

3/29/2021
Latest Spoken Label is from the wonderful Leeds based Freelance arts writer and poet, Susan Darlington. Her debut collection, Under The Devil's Moon, is out via The Penniless Press. More about Susan can be found at: https://twitter.com/s_sandarlington?lang=en Poems read out in this session include: 1. The Cage 2. Swan and the snow 3. Its alright 4. Translate the notes

Duration:00:30:32