Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review-logo

Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review

Monocle

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.
More Information

Location:

United States

Networks:

Monocle

Description:

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Language:

English


Episodes

Sunday Brunch’s new home

7/29/2018
More
‘Sunday Brunch’ has moved. To continue getting your weekly cultural feast, search for the show on the Monocle website, or via your favourite podcast provider, and subscribe for free.

Duration:00:01:34

Sunday Brunch: Writing in isolation

7/22/2018
More
We discuss how writers deal with loneliness and meet some exciting first-time directors. Plus: the data behind literature and some Portuguese-Algarvian food.

Duration:00:56:15

Sunday Brunch: The one-handed musical trust

7/15/2018
More
We meet the man helping physically disabled people play musical instruments. Plus: Renaissance insults, Nelson Mandela’s favourite food and the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:54

Sunday Brunch: 133 Dambusters

7/8/2018
More
We discuss the 133 Dambusters and meet creative director Tom Hingston. Plus: the Curious Arts Festival, weekend papers and cocktails with a view.

Duration:00:55:08

Sunday Brunch: Pop art

7/1/2018
More
We discuss pop art with an artist and a gallerist, and look at the life of Dorothea Lange. Plus: feminist saints, weekend papers and Korean food.

Duration:00:58:56

Sunday Brunch: Sculpture in the City

6/24/2018
More
Via London’s annual public-art programme, we look at how art affects your mental health. Plus: Hector Macdonald on truth, an exhibition on teeth and Michael Carr on Restaurant 92.

Duration:00:57:41

Sunday Brunch: Postwar art

6/18/2018
More
We discuss how conflict can change and affect artwork, and profile the life of Frida Kahlo. Plus: MP Jo Swinson, the weekend papers and chef Martha Ortiz.

Duration:00:57:10

Sunday Brunch: The Future Starts Here

6/11/2018
More
We discuss how the world is changing and meet the owners of a new London gallery. Plus: the history of factories, Bengali cuisine and weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:50

Sunday Brunch: the Windrush generation

6/4/2018
More
We discuss the lives of the Windrush generation and talk bespoke album artwork. Plus: meet the minds behind Remote Contact, Poet in the City and the American Bar.

Duration:00:57:23

Sunday Brunch: Big art

5/27/2018
More
We discuss the appeal and power of large-scale art. Plus: artist Tom Hammick, the differences between UK and US English and chef Mini Patel on the return of the British café.

Duration:00:58:16

Sunday Brunch: ‘Effigies of Wickedness’

5/20/2018
More
We look at a play bringing back cabaret banned by the Nazis and discuss a visual opera coming to London. Plus: James MacManus on the affair between General Eisenhower and his driver in the Second World War and we discuss the Palme d’Or.

Duration:00:57:10

Sunday Brunch: A worldwide cultural sample

5/13/2018
More
We take a trip around the world as we hear about a cultural festival in Palestine, recap last night’s Eurovision and head to Cannes. Plus: we preview some upcoming Apsley Lates and learn how to train our brains.

Duration:01:04:13

Sunday Brunch: The art of diplomacy

5/6/2018
More
We discuss how artwork can impact and influence diplomacy. Plus: how cities are adapting to our changing workplaces, how reading helped one person tackle anorexia and the evolution of the gastropub.

Duration:00:54:51

Sunday Brunch: Online auctioneering

4/29/2018
More
As the art market moves increasingly online we discuss whether traditional auction houses are a dying breed. Plus: we visit London’s most infamous recording studio, check the shortlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction and try easy vegan cooking.

Duration:00:58:42

Sunday Brunch: Artistic anonymity

4/22/2018
More
We speak to Steve Lazarides – a colleague of Banksy for more than a decade – who tells us how artists can reinvent a genre and remain hidden in the process. Plus: sound art with Tamar Harpaz, Claire Cock-Starkey’s library secrets and chef Prateek Sadhu.

Duration:00:56:24

Sunday Brunch: The art of change

4/15/2018
More
We look at whether art can encourage social change, explore why we immortalise musicians and speak with LA-based forward-thinking musician E Ruscha V about his album ‘Who Are You’. Plus: Jane Robinson on the women’s march of 1913, some Japanese grilling and Kevin Craig with the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:40

Sunday Brunch: Art of the heart and mind

4/8/2018
More
Get under the skin of art as we look at artists’ personalities, get a glimpse into Picasso’s personal life and reflect on the heart through art. Plus: we discuss Estonian literature and try some Indian cuisine.

Sunday Brunch: Classic cinema, design and literature

4/1/2018
More
We bust out the classics as we rediscover some icons of British cinema, learn how album art is designed with Rick Froberg and John Reis of Hot Snakes, and leaf through a transcript of ‘The Great Gatsby’. Meanwhile, we discover some of the world’s emerging artists and try some herbal concoctions. Plus: Marie Billon goes through the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:03

The grand finale

3/23/2018
More
In the last ever episode of the ‘Monocle Arts Review’, Robert Bound is joined by writer Lucy Jones and Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘The Evening Standard’ and London Live, to discuss some of the latest films and series to hit streaming services. Plus we meet multi-Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones.

Duration:00:45:57

Sunday Brunch: Art in the digital age

3/18/2018
More
We look at how technology has affected art, visit exhibition ‘The Classical Now’ and go on a no-screen reading retreat. Plus: Jonathan Ray brings the champagne, we have brunch with Salon’s owner and Juliette Foster reviews the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:58