Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review-logo

Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review

Monocle

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.
More Information

Location:

United States

Networks:

Monocle

Description:

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Language:

English


Episodes

Sunday Brunch: Art of the heart and mind

4/8/2018
More
Get under the skin of art as we look at artists’ personalities, get a glimpse into Picasso’s personal life and reflect on the heart through art. Plus: we discuss Estonian literature and try some Indian cuisine.

Sunday Brunch: Invisible cities

3/4/2018
More
We explore concepts of the ideal city with former Tate curator Flavia Frigeri. We visit a royal art collection. Damien Rudd tells us about the saddest place names in the world, and we try some Hong Kong brunch. Plus: Cornelia Meyer reads the weekend papers.

Sunday Brunch: documenting a war

1/28/2018
More
We find out about Peter Jackson’s new film documenting the First World War, head to London’s Tate Gallery to celebrate the pioneers of installation art and talk to John Wood about his decision to leave Microsoft to change the world. Plus we try vegan junk food and Rachel Cunliffe on the weekend papers.

Oscars fever

1/26/2018
More
With the nominees for the 90th Academy Awards announced this week, Ben Rylan and film critics Anna Smith and Tim Robey discuss their hopes for this year’s prizes. Plus: we find out how to show your film at Sundance without being officially selected and discover a brand new Vincent Van Gogh drawing in the Netherlands.

Duration:00:44:13

Festive films

12/22/2017
More
Film critics Jason Solomons and Anna Smith join Ben Rylan in the studio to discuss the films out this December and some of their festive favourites.

Duration:00:45:00

Sunday Brunch 12: Frenchies

10/29/2017
More
We go through Ben Rylan’s favourite record, Killian Fox hits us with some gastronomic facts and we meet Frenchie. Plus: Phil Clark goes through the weekend papers.

Sunday Brunch 4: What is Cascara?

9/3/2017
More
We learn about the drink that’s making coffee more sustainable, Tot Taylor tells us about his latest novel and Melkon Charchoglyan talks alternative jazz in the Midori House Mixtape. Plus: Marie Billon on this weekend’s papers.

Sunday Brunch 3: Tastes of Ghana

8/27/2017
More
We find out what makes a Ghanaian brunch, speak to the people behind the Migrate photography exhibition in London, and Tom Hall plays us ‘Automatic Midnight’ in the Midori House mixtape. Plus: the journalist and author Matthew Green goes through a stack of broadsheets from around the world.

Podcasts, books and music: a different spin on hospital records

8/18/2017
More
In the studio we talk books and podcasts with John Mitchinson, co-founder of Unbound, and Fiona Sturges, arts columnist for ‘The Guardian’ and ‘The Financial Times’. Plus we head to Moscow to learn how Soviet music lovers managed to smuggle music into the USSR on old hospital X-rays and we dial up Edinburgh to find out how the fringe festival is going so far.

Duration:00:45:00

Top TV picks for June

6/9/2017
More
Ben Rylan is joined in the studio by writer Lucy Jones and TV editor at London Live Toby Earle to discuss their highlights on Netflix and Amazon Prime this month. Plus we nip over to São Paulo for some Japanese culture and find out what’s at number one in Belgium in this week’s global countdown.

Duration:00:45:00

Art: in bottles, on bumper cars and bringing midcentury New York to life

5/26/2017
More
Matt Alagiah is joined in the studio by Matt Wolf, theatre critic for the ‘The New York Times International Edition’, and Nancy Durrant, commissioning editor for ‘The Times Arts’, to discuss the week in London theatre and art. Plus: we take a dodgem ride around an arts festival by the Thames and we take a whiff of some olfactory art.

Duration:00:44:05

Podcasts, photographs and independent filmmaking

5/19/2017
More
We review the latest book and podcast releases with publisher John Mitchinson and writer Pete Naughton. Plus: art adviser Kathlene Fox-Davies gives us her take on Photo London, we meet a film producer to find out just how difficult it is to get your film on the big screen and we listen to Portugal’s top-five music chart.

Duration:00:45:51

Eurovision

5/12/2017
More
Ben Rylan is joined in the studio by Eurovision experts Chris West and Frances Robinson to discuss this year’s extravaganza in Kiev. Plus: our Eurovision correspondent Fernando Augusto Pacheco is on the ground to take us behind the scenes of this year’s show and we find out what it is like to present the big finale with Australian TV and radio personality Myf Warhurst.

Duration:00:49:19

Film round-up, Venice Biennale and Damien Hirst

5/5/2017
More
Film critic Jason Solomons rounds up what's on at the cinema this week, while art critic Jane Morris fills us in on the highlights of the Venice Biennale and Damien Hirst's gargantuan new exhibition. Plus: the Photo London art fair, political cartoonist Willem and what's at number one in the Norwegian music charts.

Duration:00:44:53

Top TV, Italian publishing and the 'global novel'

4/28/2017
More
Robert Bound, Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’, and DJ and broadcaster Georgie Rogers round up some of the week’s TV and music releases. Plus: we discover the Italian publishers to know, discuss the “global novel” with poet and critic Adam Kirsch and learn about what classical music means in 2017 with German composer Sven Helbig.

Duration:00:45:00

Broadway, books and Brazilian art

4/21/2017
More
With the Tony nominations on the horizon, we dial up theatre critic Matt Wolf in New York to see who’s doing well on Broadway. Plus: we talk April novels with ‘Elle’ magazine’s literary critic Sharmaine Lovegrove, take a look at some Brazilian art and cast an eye over photography in Paris.

Duration:00:40:28

April’s films, ‘S-Town’ and China’s music chart

4/14/2017
More
Ben Rylan chats to film critics Karen Krizanovich and Tim Robey about this month’s cinema releases, we get to grips with the latest podcast sensation ‘S-Town’ and we take the temperature of Canada’s music scene. Plus: we discover the must-see theatre production in London this week and the number-one single in the Chinese charts.

Duration:00:46:26

Book review, Antarctic Biennale and MipTV

4/7/2017
More
Tom Edwards is joined in the studio by writers Cathy Rentzenbrink and Mark Mason to discuss this month’s fiction and non-fiction releases, we find out how you put on a biennale in the Antarctic and get a round-up from MipTV with ‘Broadcast’ magazine’s Peter White. Plus: the Toronto Storytelling Festival.

Duration:00:46:22

Robert Bound and guests on the week ahead

3/31/2017
More
Robert Bound is joined by Will Hodgkinson, chief rock and pop critic for ‘The Times’, and Kathelene Fox-Davies, art dealer and advisor, to discuss the week in music and art. Plus we talk Korean art with Bartomeu Mari, director of the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Seoul, and discover our new favourite radio station in Amsterdam.

Duration:00:45:00

Matt Wolf, Lucy Jones and a Van Gogh art heist

3/24/2017
More
Theatre critic Matt Wolf and writer Lucy Jones join Matt Alagiah in the studio to review this week’s West End and TV shows, we head to Amsterdam to learn about a recently solved art heist and we speak to one of the creative minds behind the London-based art, music and technology festival Convergence.

Duration:00:44:31