Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review-logo

Monocle 24: The Monocle Arts Review

Monocle

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.
More Information

Location:

United States

Networks:

Monocle

Description:

Daily cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. They’ll tell you the shows to see, books to read and music to hear each week in a tasty 15-minute chunk.

Language:

English


Episodes

Sunday Brunch: Sculpture in the City

6/24/2018
More
Via London’s annual public-art programme, we look at how art affects your mental health. Plus: Hector Macdonald on truth, an exhibition on teeth and Michael Carr on Restaurant 92.

Duration:00:57:41

Sunday Brunch: Postwar art

6/18/2018
More
We discuss how conflict can change and affect artwork, and profile the life of Frida Kahlo. Plus: MP Jo Swinson, the weekend papers and chef Martha Ortiz.

Duration:00:57:10

Sunday Brunch: The Future Starts Here

6/11/2018
More
We discuss how the world is changing and meet the owners of a new London gallery. Plus: the history of factories, Bengali cuisine and weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:50

Sunday Brunch: the Windrush generation

6/4/2018
More
We discuss the lives of the Windrush generation and talk bespoke album artwork. Plus: meet the minds behind Remote Contact, Poet in the City and the American Bar.

Duration:00:57:23

Sunday Brunch: Big art

5/27/2018
More
We discuss the appeal and power of large-scale art. Plus: artist Tom Hammick, the differences between UK and US English and chef Mini Patel on the return of the British café.

Duration:00:58:16

Sunday Brunch: ‘Effigies of Wickedness’

5/20/2018
More
We look at a play bringing back cabaret banned by the Nazis and discuss a visual opera coming to London. Plus: James MacManus on the affair between General Eisenhower and his driver in the Second World War and we discuss the Palme d’Or.

Duration:00:57:10

Sunday Brunch: A worldwide cultural sample

5/13/2018
More
We take a trip around the world as we hear about a cultural festival in Palestine, recap last night’s Eurovision and head to Cannes. Plus: we preview some upcoming Apsley Lates and learn how to train our brains.

Duration:01:04:13

Sunday Brunch: The art of diplomacy

5/6/2018
More
We discuss how artwork can impact and influence diplomacy. Plus: how cities are adapting to our changing workplaces, how reading helped one person tackle anorexia and the evolution of the gastropub.

Duration:00:54:51

Sunday Brunch: Online auctioneering

4/29/2018
More
As the art market moves increasingly online we discuss whether traditional auction houses are a dying breed. Plus: we visit London’s most infamous recording studio, check the shortlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction and try easy vegan cooking.

Duration:00:58:42

Sunday Brunch: Artistic anonymity

4/22/2018
More
We speak to Steve Lazarides – a colleague of Banksy for more than a decade – who tells us how artists can reinvent a genre and remain hidden in the process. Plus: sound art with Tamar Harpaz, Claire Cock-Starkey’s library secrets and chef Prateek Sadhu.

Duration:00:56:24

Sunday Brunch: The art of change

4/15/2018
More
We look at whether art can encourage social change, explore why we immortalise musicians and speak with LA-based forward-thinking musician E Ruscha V about his album ‘Who Are You’. Plus: Jane Robinson on the women’s march of 1913, some Japanese grilling and Kevin Craig with the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:40

Sunday Brunch: Art of the heart and mind

4/8/2018
More
Get under the skin of art as we look at artists’ personalities, get a glimpse into Picasso’s personal life and reflect on the heart through art. Plus: we discuss Estonian literature and try some Indian cuisine.

Sunday Brunch: Classic cinema, design and literature

4/1/2018
More
We bust out the classics as we rediscover some icons of British cinema, learn how album art is designed with Rick Froberg and John Reis of Hot Snakes, and leaf through a transcript of ‘The Great Gatsby’. Meanwhile, we discover some of the world’s emerging artists and try some herbal concoctions. Plus: Marie Billon goes through the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:03

The grand finale

3/23/2018
More
In the last ever episode of the ‘Monocle Arts Review’, Robert Bound is joined by writer Lucy Jones and Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘The Evening Standard’ and London Live, to discuss some of the latest films and series to hit streaming services. Plus we meet multi-Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones.

Duration:00:45:57

Sunday Brunch: Art in the digital age

3/18/2018
More
We look at how technology has affected art, visit exhibition ‘The Classical Now’ and go on a no-screen reading retreat. Plus: Jonathan Ray brings the champagne, we have brunch with Salon’s owner and Juliette Foster reviews the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:58

Films on-screen and art to be seen

3/16/2018
More
Film critic Jason Solomons reviews this week’s film releases and Jane Morris, editor at large of the ‘Art Newspaper’, talks London art exhibitions with Monocle’s Ben Rylan. Plus: we meet artist Celia Hempton in Rome.

Duration:00:42:51

Sunday Brunch: Trust in invisible agents

3/11/2018
More
We find out how hidden technology is influencing our lives, check out the Museum of London’s ‘Votes for Women’ exhibition and Jen Campbell explores some modern fairy tales. Plus: we try Vicky’s Donuts and Rachel Cunliffe has the weekend papers.

Duration:00:56:35

From the stage to the bookshelf

3/9/2018
More
We get to grips with this week’s theatre openings in London with the critic Matt Wolf and leaf through some new book releases with John Mitchinson, publisher at Unbound. Plus: we visit an exhibition in Dublin that examines our relationship with authenticity and all things fake. Andrew Mueller presents.

Duration:00:43:19

Sunday Brunch: Invisible cities

3/4/2018
More
We explore concepts of the ideal city with former Tate curator Flavia Frigeri. We visit a royal art collection. Damien Rudd tells us about the saddest place names in the world, and we try some Hong Kong brunch. Plus: Cornelia Meyer reads the weekend papers.

Film: from the Berlinale to the Oscars

3/2/2018
More
Film critics Tim Robey and Jason Solomons recap their highlights from this year’s Berlin Film Festival and predict what they think might happen at this weekend’s Oscars. Plus we review ‘A Fantastic Woman’ and ‘Red Sparrow’, and learn about the history of cross-dressing in a new exhibition in London.

Duration:00:44:41