We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Learn More

Second Opinion-logo

Second Opinion

KCRW

An examination of medical ethics and the practitioners who define them. Dr. Michael Wilkes is a Professor of Medicine and Vice Dean for Medical Education at UC Davis. He takes on the pharmaceutical and health insurance industries and raises the issues that people face head-on when making medical decisions.

An examination of medical ethics and the practitioners who define them. Dr. Michael Wilkes is a Professor of Medicine and Vice Dean for Medical Education at UC Davis. He takes on the pharmaceutical and health insurance industries and raises the issues that people face head-on when making medical decisions.
More Information

Location:

Santa Monica, CA

Networks:

KCRW

Description:

An examination of medical ethics and the practitioners who define them. Dr. Michael Wilkes is a Professor of Medicine and Vice Dean for Medical Education at UC Davis. He takes on the pharmaceutical and health insurance industries and raises the issues that people face head-on when making medical decisions.

Twitter:

@kcrw

Language:

English

Contact:

1900 Pico Blvd. Santa Monica, CA 90405 310-450-5183


Episodes

Is basic life sustaining healthcare a right or a privilege?

5/27/2018
More
What happens when a undocumented immigrant needs kidney dialysis?

Duration:00:03:49

Ebola returns and it deserves our attention

5/20/2018
More
In our interconnected world their problems today could be our problems tomorrow.

Duration:00:07:06

The oversized problem of arthritis

5/13/2018
More
This is the poster child for how we can use evidence-based practice to improve outcomes.

Duration:00:03:32

Striking in health care

5/6/2018
More
Deciding to strike is always difficult, but there is an added twist in health care.

Duration:00:03:51

A tale of two extremes

4/29/2018
More
Trying to meet patient expectations is an art and we sometimes miss the mark.

Duration:00:03:39

When journalists get it wrong

4/22/2018
More
Reporting failure often results from neglecting to look under the rocks and ask the tough questions.

Duration:00:03:50

It's time to start to change some of the silly rules in health care

4/15/2018
More
Everyone’s opinions count, but leaders need to be motivated to change the status quo

Duration:00:03:48

Sex trafficking

4/8/2018
More
A group of people being missed by health professionals.

Duration:00:03:44

Out of hospital cardiac arrest

4/1/2018
More
We could be doing much better – but it takes a village

Duration:00:03:29

Early teenage drinking

3/25/2018
More
An early start to any type of substance abuse can often be a warning sign.

Duration:00:03:15

White coats against gun violence

3/18/2018
More
Millennials are our reason for hope.

Duration:00:03:27

The health of the world's adolescents

3/11/2018
More
Intervening to improve the health of this vulnerable population will have big payoffs as they transition to becoming tomorrow’s adults.

Duration:00:03:32

Limitations of antidepressant medications

3/4/2018
More
An important illness with several options for treatment.

Duration:00:03:11

How do we get the doctors we need?

2/25/2018
More
Requiring a year or two of community service.

Duration:00:03:45

Working when sick

2/18/2018
More
Perhaps it is time for a change in the culture of medicine – if not for doctors then for the sake of patients.

Duration:00:03:13

Paying doctors to keep costs low

2/11/2018
More
Paying doctors to change their behavior works, but it often has unintended consequences.

Duration:00:06:57

Just because we do the surgery doesn't mean it works

2/4/2018
More
Despite being used thousands of times a year for decades, an innovative study shows shoulder surgery is not effective.

Duration:00:03:29

Karla's trip home

1/28/2018
More
A medical student goes home to care for a sick family member.

Duration:00:04:53

Conversations around Pain

1/21/2018
More
A delicate dance -- with no leading partner.

Duration:00:03:27

Influenza: 2018

1/14/2018
More
We certainly could do much better with our approach to the flu.

Duration:00:03:28

Try Premium for 30 days

Live games for all NFL, MLB, NBA, & NHL teams
Commercial-Free Music
No Display Ads