Challenging Opinions >>-logo

Challenging Opinions >>

Media & Entertainment Podcasts >

Challenging Opinions is the podcast where ideas are tested and improved - rational debate and thoughtful inquiry.

Challenging Opinions is the podcast where ideas are tested and improved - rational debate and thoughtful inquiry.
More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

Challenging Opinions is the podcast where ideas are tested and improved - rational debate and thoughtful inquiry.

Language:

English

Contact:

+35314738078


Episodes

CO093 Owen Poindexter on Basic Income

10/1/2018
More
Owen Poindexter is a freelance writer and a presenter of the Basic Income podcast. He’s also a former Democratic candidate for the California Assembly. We talked about his article 18 Reasons to Support Basic Income.

Duration:00:26:57

CO092 Larry Atkins on Media Bias

9/24/2018
More
Larry Atkins is a journalist, university professor, columnist, lawyer, and author of the book Skewed: A Critical Thinker’s Guide to Media Bias published by Prometheus Books. ***** Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo are two journalists with Reuters, and I apologize for what I’m sure is my terrible pronunciation of their names, but I think … Continue reading "CO092 Larry Atkins on Media Bias"

Duration:00:26:58

CO091 Lori Price on Alternative News Values

9/17/2018
More
Lori Price is the editor in chief of Legitgov.org, Citizens for a Legitimate Government. ***** Vladimir Putin is either very stupid or very clever. Yes, I’m talking about the Russian affair again. No, not that one, the other one – try to keep track. A nerve agent easily traceable to a Russian laboratory was used … Continue reading "CO091 Lori Price on Alternative News Values"

Duration:00:29:17

CO090 Greta Zarro on a World Without War

9/10/2018
More
Greta Zarro describes herself as a vegetarian sociologist-environmentalist, and she is the organizing director of World Beyond War. We talked about this article she wrote, and in the podcast I also mentioned the bombing of the Ariana Grande concert in Manchester, UK, and the Haska Meyna wedding party airstrike. **** I was looking through the Reddit politics subreddit … Continue reading "CO090 Greta Zarro on a World Without War"

Duration:00:23:40

CO089 Dave Lefcourt on how Nostalgia Ain’t What it Used to Be

9/3/2018
More
Dave Lefcourt is an author, writer and left-wing activist since the 1960s.

Duration:00:21:52

CO088 Joseph Zernik on the Israeli Religious Divide

8/27/2018
More
Dr Joseph Zernik is a writer, a researcher and a Human Rights activist based in Israel. Submissions which he wrote on behalf of the organisation Human Rights Alert – NGO have been incorporated into UN Human Rights Council Periodic Reports.

Duration:00:22:31

CO087 Iona Italia on the Rights and Wrongs of Sarah Jeong

8/13/2018
More
Iona Italia is the sub-editor of Areo Magazine and we discussed this piece that she wrote about Sarah Jeong. ***** This is turning into a political correctness bumper edition, so sorry about that but I wanted to comment a bit about the controversy that blew up in the UK about Boris Johnson’s comment about Muslim … Continue reading "CO087 Iona Italia on the Rights and Wrongs of Sarah Jeong"

Duration:00:29:37

CO086 Gary Kebbel on the Prospects for Journalism

8/6/2018
More
Gary Kebbel served as dean at the College of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. In the podcast, I mentioned my previous interview with Professor Henry Jenkins of USC.

Duration:00:25:05

CO085 George Marlin on Defending Persecuted Christians

7/30/2018
More
George Marlin is the author of Christian Persecutions in the Middle East: A 21st Century Tragedy published by St Augustine’s Press. George also served two terms as Executive Director and CEO of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and he is chairman of Aid to the Church in Need. In our discussion I mentioned … Continue reading "CO085 George Marlin on Defending Persecuted Christians"

Duration:00:59:27

CO084 Henry Jenkins on Future Media

7/23/2018
More
Henry Jenkins is the Provost Professor of Communication, Journalism, Cinematic Arts and Education at USC Annenberg, and previously of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He also presents the How Do you Like It So Far podcast. ***** I was watching the press conference after the Helsinki summit, the would-he-wouldn’t-he summit. I didn’t really have much of a … Continue reading "CO084 Henry Jenkins on Future Media"

Duration:00:36:39

CO083 Helen Raleigh on the Rise of China

7/16/2018
More
Helen Raleigh is an immigration policy Fellow at the Centennial Institute and she is a leading voice for a free market based legal immigration reform. In October 2016, the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights appointed Helen to the Colorado State Advisory Committee. In November 2016, she was recognized as a “distinguished toastmaster” (DTM) by Toastmaster … Continue reading "CO083 Helen Raleigh on the Rise of China"

Duration:00:29:25

CO082 Ed Gogek on the Case Against Marijuana

7/9/2018
More
Dr Ed Gogek is a psychiatrist and a specialist in treating addiction. He’s also the author of Marijuana Debunked: A handbook for parents, pundits and politicians who want to know the case against legalization. The BBC reported on the effects of marijuana legalization here. In addition I tried to bring up the Russell Newcombe and Sally … Continue reading "CO082 Ed Gogek on the Case Against Marijuana"

Duration:00:36:45

CO081 Jeffrey Miron on Health and Drug Policy

7/2/2018
More
Jeffrey Miron is a Senior Lecturer and Director of Undergraduate Studies in the Department of Economics at Harvard University, as well as being Director of Economics Studies at the Cato Institute. We talked about the huge increase in the U.S. prison population – it really is striking: ***** By now you know all about the Mueller … Continue reading "CO081 Jeffrey Miron on Health and Drug Policy"

Duration:00:34:31

CO080 Gregory Schneider on The History of Conservatism

6/25/2018
More
Dr Gregory L. Schneider is Professor of History at Emproia State University, and he’s the author of The Conservative Century: From Reaction to Revolution (Critical Issues in American History). ***** This is the Meads v Meads text that I referred to. Lawyers, the story goes, were originally paid by the word when they were writing … Continue reading "CO080 Gregory Schneider on The History of Conservatism"

Duration:00:35:42

CO079 Mike Ludwig on Pruitt’s EPA

6/18/2018
More
Mike Ludwig is a reporter for TruthOut.org. We talked about his article Scott Pruitt’s Embattled Science “Transparency” Rule Does Not Apply to Pesticides. I also mentioned the Royal Society of Chemistry’s £1m bounty for the UK’s first chemical-free product – they say that they will pay £1m for anyone who can provide a handful of any … Continue reading "CO079 Mike Ludwig on Pruitt’s EPA"

Duration:00:17:42

CO078 Miranda Yardley on a Different Trans View

6/11/2018
More
Miranda Yardley calls herself an ‘iconoclastic transexual’ and caused controversy recently when, as was widely reported she was banned from Twitter for what was branded ‘hate speech‘. In our discussion, I mentioned the very high level of violence suffered by transwomen in particular, as documented here and here.

Duration:00:31:11

CO077 Daniel Ameli on Bitcoin

6/4/2018
More
Daniel Ameli is a data scientist and cryptocurrency expert who has written extensively about Bitcoin. Failed, raided and fraudulent Bitcoin exchanges have included Mt. Gox, Bitomat, MyBitcoin, Bitcoinica, Bitcoin Savings and Trust, Bitfloor, Instawallet, Bitcoin Foundation, Inputs.io, Global Bond Limited, Flexcoin, Bter, Bitstamp, Cryptsy, Gatecoin, Bitfinex, and NiceHash. Aristotle defined money as follows: It must … Continue reading "CO077 Daniel Ameli on Bitcoin"

Duration:00:32:00

CO076 Ani Zonneveld on Progressives in Islam

5/28/2018
More
Ani Zonneveld is the founder of Muslims for Progressive Values. In our discussion I mentioned some opinion research among British Muslims. There was talk a couple of weeks back – among Trump supporters anyway – there was talk of Donald Trump winning the Nobel Peace Prize. Before you laugh, remember Obama won the Nobel Peace … Continue reading "CO076 Ani Zonneveld on Progressives in Islam"

Duration:00:38:45

CO075 Natalie Parrott on Trans Issues and Feminism

5/21/2018
More
Natalie Parrott produces the YouTube channel ContraPoints. I highly recommend her videos. I mentioned the interview I did Linda Bellos in February. In our discussion, I mentioned the soaring referrals to the UK’s Tavistock clinic (which specialises in gender reassignment) of children. I also mentioned James Caspian, the doctoral candidate at Bath Spa University who … Continue reading "CO075 Natalie Parrott on Trans Issues and Feminism"

Duration:00:50:53

CO074 Christopher Novembrino on the Russia Investigation

5/14/2018
More
Christopher Novembrino is a host of the Don’t Worry About The Government podcast. In the podcast I mentioned rival protests organised in Houston, Texas to protest and defend the local Muslim community, which were both organised by Russian-controlled Facebook groups.

Duration:00:21:44