The Full Circle Weekly News-logo

The Full Circle Weekly News

News & Politics Podcasts

From the independent magazine for the Ubuntu Linux community. The Full Circle Weekly News is a short podcast with just the news. No chit-chat. No time wasting. Just the latest FOSS/Linux/Ubuntu news.

From the independent magazine for the Ubuntu Linux community. The Full Circle Weekly News is a short podcast with just the news. No chit-chat. No time wasting. Just the latest FOSS/Linux/Ubuntu news.

Location:

United Kingdom

Description:

From the independent magazine for the Ubuntu Linux community. The Full Circle Weekly News is a short podcast with just the news. No chit-chat. No time wasting. Just the latest FOSS/Linux/Ubuntu news.

Language:

English

Contact:

+7878055105


Episodes

Full Circle Weekly News #179

8/3/2020
Linux Mint Confirms Snap Will Be Forbidden https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3906 TUXEDO Computers and System76 Now Have AMD Laptop Offerings https://9to5linux.com/tuxedo-computers-unveils-their-first-amd-only-linux-laptop https://9to5linux.com/system76-launches-their-first-ever-amd-powered-linux-laptop Kup Is Now an Official KDE App https://kde.org/announcements/releases/2020-06-apps-update/ Kernel 5.8 Will Be One of the Biggest Releases of All Time...

Full Circle Weekly News #178

7/18/2020
Oracle’s Patch Reduces Boot Times By Almost Half https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Oracle-Faster-Linux-Boot-PADATA Inkscape 1.0 Released, Finally https://inkscape.org/news/2020/05/04/introducing-inkscape-10/ Ubuntu Studio 20.10 To Ship With Plasma https://ubuntustudio.org/2020/05/progress-on-plasma/ Ubuntu 20.04 Certifies the Pi https://ubuntu.com/blog/ubuntu-20-04-lts-is-certified-for-the-raspberry-pi Audacity Released 2.4, Withdrew It, Then Released It Again...

Full Circle Weekly News #177

7/11/2020
Ubuntu 20.04 Released https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/04/download-ubuntu-20-04 Ubuntu Survey Results https://ubuntu.com/blog/ubuntu-20-04-survey-results Fedora 32 Released https://fedoramagazine.org/announcing-fedora-32/ Lenovo Now Shipping Fedora on Thinkpads https://fedoramagazine.org/coming-soon-fedora-on-lenovo-laptops/ Manjaro 20 Released https://forum.manjaro.org/t/manjaro-20-0-lysia-released/138633 Bug In Git May Leak Credentials...

Full Circle Weekly News #176

6/18/2020
Red Hat Names Paul Cormier President and CEO https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20200406005139/en Mitchell Baker Named CEO of Mozilla https://blog.mozilla.org/blog/2020/04/08/mitchell-baker-named-ceo-of-mozilla/ Docker Users Targeted with Crypto Malware https://blog.aquasec.com/threat-alert-kinsing-malware-container-vulnerability Docker Compose Is Now Open Source https://www.docker.com/blog/announcing-the-compose-specification/ Gnome Announces Community Engagement Challenge...

Full Circle Weekly News #175

6/12/2020
Paragon Software Unhappy about exFAT in Kernel 5.7 https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2020/03/the-exfat-filesystem-is-coming-to-linux-paragon-softwares-not-happy-about-it/ Debian Announces Biohackathon https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announce/2020/03/msg00010.html Linux Mint 20 will be named Ulyana https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3887 GNU Guix Plans Addition of Hurd Micro-Kernel https://guix.gnu.org/blog/2020/a-hello-world-virtual-machine-running-the-hurd/ Huawei Signs...

Full Circle Weekly News #174

6/7/2020
Kernel 5.6 Released https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/3/29/379 Audacious 4.0 Out https://audacious-media-player.org/news/45-audacious-4-0-released Git 2.26.0 Out https://github.blog/2020-03-22-highlights-from-git-2-26/ Parrot 4.8 Out https://parrotsec.org/blog/parrot-4.8-release-notes/ Kubernetes 1.18 Out https://kubernetes.io/blog/2020/03/25/kubernetes-1-18-release-announcement/ Bodhi Linux 5.1.0 Out https://www.bodhilinux.com/2020/03/25/bodhi-linux-5-1-0-released/ Credits: Ubuntu “Complete”...

Full Circle Weekly News #173

6/2/2020
March Update on Pinebook Pro https://www.pine64.org/2020/03/15/march-update-manjaro-on-pinebook-pro-pinephone-software/ GitHub to Acquire NPM https://www.itprotoday.com/devops-and-software-development/github-acquire-npm-javascript-package-manager Shortwave Radio 1.0 Out https://www.linuxuprising.com/2020/03/shortwave-internet-radio-player-sees.html Emmabuntus 1.01 Out https://emmabuntus.org/on-march-16th-2020-emma-de3-debian-10-buster-the-foxy-distro/ Fedora 32 Beta Out...

Full Circle Weekly News #172

5/23/2020
Debian Leader Says “One Year Will Do” https://www.itwire.com/open-source/debian-leader-hartman-says-one-year-at-the-helm-will-do-for-now.html Debian 8 Adds Longer Support https://raphaelhertzog.com/2020/03/11/keeping-debian-8-jessie-alive-for-longer-than-5-years/ Debian 11 Package Freeze Scheduled https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announce/2020/03/msg00002.html Gnome 3.36 “Gresik” https://help.gnome.org/misc/release-notes/3.36/ The Linux Foundation Open Sources Project OWL...

Full Circle Weekly News #171

5/15/2020
Let’s Encrypt Moves Forward with the CAA Rechecking Bug https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/2020-02-29-caa-rechecking-bug/114591/2 Project Sandcastle runs Android on iPhone 7 https://www.xda-developers.com/install-android-10-apple-iphone-7-plus-project-sandcastle-checkra1n-jailbreak/ Glimpse 0.1.2 Is More than a Name Change https://glimpse-editor.org/posts/glimpse-0-1-2-release-notes/ systemd 245 Now Supports Encrypted Home Directories...

Full Circle Weekly News #170

5/7/2020
The Structure and Administration of the GNU Project Announced https://www.gnu.org/gnu/gnu-structure.html CTO calls for patience after devs complain promised donations platform has stalled https://www.theregister.co.uk/2020/02/22/npm_funding_source/ Arch Linux Has a New Leader https://www.archlinux.org/news/the-future-of-the-arch-linux-project-leader/ Microsoft Previews Defender ATP for Linux https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-previews-microsoft-defender-atp-for-linux/ Unity 8 Renamed to...

Full Circle Weekly News #169

4/29/2020
Linux Foundation’s Core Infrastructure Initiative Releases Census II Analysis https://www.zdnet.com/article/the-linux-foundation-identifies-the-most-important-open-source-software-components-and-their-problems/ Refreshed GTK Website Goes Live https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/gtk-website-redesign MX Linux 19.1 Now Available https://mxlinux.org/blog/mx-19-1-now-available/ MangoHud 0.2.0 Is Out...

Full Circle Weekly News #168

4/19/2020
Ubuntu 18.04.4 Released with Updated Kernel 5.3 https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-18-04-4-lts-released Devs Push for Unicode 13 Support in Ubuntu 20.04 LTS https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/unicode-13-in-ubuntu-20-04 Perens Versus Open Source Security; Perens Wins in Court https://www.itwire.com/open-source/linux-kernel-patch-maker-says-court-case-was-only-way-out.html New Long Term Support KDE Plamsa 5.18 Is Out https://kde.org/announcements/plasma-5.18.0 Kernel Updates to Fix...

Full Circle Weekly News #167

4/11/2020
EOL of CoreOS Linux https://coreos.com/os/eol/ Kernel 5.4 Marked as LTS https://9to5linux.com/linux-kernel-5-4-is-now-an-official-lts-release-supported-until-2022 Ubuntu 20.04 Will Ship with the 5.4 LTS Kernel https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-20-04-kernel-5-4-lts Godot Engine Receives Epic MegaGrant https://godotengine.org/article/godot-engine-was-awarded-epic-megagrant Wine 5.1 Development Released https://www.winehq.org/announce/5.1 TLP 1.3 Released...

Full Circle Weekly News #166

3/29/2020
Thunderbird Ownership Transferred to MZLA https://blog.thunderbird.net/2020/01/thunderbirds-new-home/ ND2H Wi-Fi Adapter Is Now FSF Certified https://www.fsf.org/news/libiquity-wi-fri-nd2h-wi-fi-card-now-fsf-certified-to-respect-your-freedom Nvidia Dropping Support for Older Graphics Drivers https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3142/ Linux Mint Focuses on LMDE 4 and Cinnamon https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3858 Google Paid $6.5M in Vulnerability Rewards in 2019...

Full Circle Weekly News #165

3/18/2020
Kubuntu Focus Laptop to Ship in Early February https://www.zdnet.com/article/kubuntu-focus-a-new-top-of-the-line-linux-laptop-arrives/ ProtonVPN Open Sources All of Its Apps https://protonvpn.com/blog/open-source/ Wine 5.0 Released https://www.winehq.org/news/2020012101 Kernel 5.5 Released https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/1/26/232 FSF Wants to Upcycle Windows 7 https://www.fsf.org/windows/upcycle-windows-7 Gnu Make 4.3 Released https://savannah.gnu.org/forum/forum.php?forum_id=9654 Red Hat...

Full Circle Weekly News #164

2/19/2020
Zorin Announces Zorin Grid https://zoringroup.com/blog/2020/01/16/introducing-zorin-grid-manage-all-of-your-organizations-computers-as-easily-as-one/ Xfce 4.16 Getting a Major UI Change https://simon.shimmerproject.org/2020/01/14/xfce-4-14-maintenance-and-4-15-updates/ Mozilla Lays Off About 70 Employees https://techcrunch.com/2020/01/15/mozilla-lays-off-70-as-it-waits-for-subscription-products-to-generate-revenue/ Ubuntu Theme Development for 20.04...

Full Circle Weekly News #163

2/12/2020
Kali Defaults to a Non-Root User https://www.kali.org/news/kali-default-non-root-user/ VVVVVV Now Open Source https://github.com/TerryCavanagh/VVVVVV/blob/master/LICENSE.md An All New Firefox 72 https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/72.0/releasenotes/ Linus Torvalds Weary of ZFS in the Kernel https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Linus-Says-No-To-ZFS-Linux EndlessOS Will Be Available on the Raspberry Pi https://www.tomshardware.com/news/endless-os-coming-to-raspberry-pi First...

Full Circle Weekly News #162

1/29/2020
Arch Linux Now Using ZStandard Instead of XZ for Compression https://www.archlinux.org/news/now-using-zstandard-instead-of-xz-for-package-compression/ EA Is Permanently Banning Linux Gamers in Battlefield V https://itsfoss.com/ea-banning-linux-gamers/ OpenBSD’s Calm Window Manager version 6.6 is now available in a portable package https://github.com/leahneukirchen/cwm Smartmontools 7.1 is available https://www.smartmontools.org/browser/tags/RELEASE_7_1/smartmontools/NEWS Supertux Cart 1.1 is...

Full Circle Weekly News #161

1/8/2020
DXVK 1.5 Released https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/releases/tag/v1.5 Calculate Linux 20 Released https://forum.calculate-linux.org/t/calculate-linux-20/9805 Purism Announces the Librem Server https://puri.sm/products/librem-server/ Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon, MATE and XFCE Released https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3832 Peppermint 10 Respin Released https://peppermintos.com/2019/12/peppermint-10-respin-released/ Alpine Linux 3.11.0 Released...

Full Circle Weekly News #160

12/29/2019
Zorin OS 15.1 is Released https://zoringroup.com/blog/2019/12/12/zorin-os-15-1-is-released-a-better-way-to-work-learn-and-play/ Firefox 71 is Now Available for All Supported Ubuntu Releases https://news.softpedia.com/news/mozilla-firefox-71-is-now-available-for-all-supported-ubuntu-linux-releases-528537.shtml KDE’s December 2019 Apps Update https://kde.org/announcements/releases/2019-12-apps-update/ Oracle Virtualbox 6.1 Now Available...