The Neofusionist Book Review-logo

The Neofusionist Book Review

Philosophy Podcasts >

The Neofusionist Book Review explores politics, philosophy, psychology, sociology and economics from a naturalistic, paleoconservative perspective, using the format of a book review. I examine books published in a wide array of time periods, with a special emphasis on the early to middle 20th century, the ancient Greeks, and of course the present.

The Neofusionist Book Review explores politics, philosophy, psychology, sociology and economics from a naturalistic, paleoconservative perspective, using the format of a book review. I examine books published in a wide array of time periods, with a special emphasis on the early to middle 20th century, the ancient Greeks, and of course the present.
More Information

Location:

United States

Description:

The Neofusionist Book Review explores politics, philosophy, psychology, sociology and economics from a naturalistic, paleoconservative perspective, using the format of a book review. I examine books published in a wide array of time periods, with a special emphasis on the early to middle 20th century, the ancient Greeks, and of course the present.

Language:

English


Episodes

Review: Myths to Live By by Joseph Campbell

10/14/2019
More
In this episode I look at the functions of myth and ritual, and the challenge that is posed by science to the enduring viability of mythology. I also look at the premise of the Jungian archetype. This is all in Joseph Campbell's classic, Myths to Live By. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:40:52

Review: The Greeks by H. D. F. Kitto

9/28/2019
More
In this episode I look at the concepts of wholeness and arate (excellence) as envisioned by the ancient Greeks, through H. D. F. Kitto's superb overview, The Greeks. I look at the polis and how it impacted the life and thought of the Greeks. More at neofusionist.com

Duration:01:21:01

Review: The Right Side of History by Ben Shapiro

9/22/2019
More
In this episode I examine Ben Shapiro's theory of Athens and Jerusalem as the twin roots of Western civilization, as presented in The Right Side of History. I look at his prerequisites for a flourishing society, and the connection between the Enlightenment and Western values. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:04:05

Review: A Handbook for Right-Wing Youth by Julius Evola

9/8/2019
More
In this episode I look an array of Julius Evola's essays collected after his death into A Handbook for Right-Wing Youth. I explore the need to have a positive doctrine as opposed to a negative critique, democracy vs monarchy, and the modern world's fascination with the young. more at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:06:13

Review: The Fourth Political Theory by Alexander Dugin

8/28/2019
More
In this episode, I look at Russian philosopher and geopolitical strategist Alexander Dugin's vision of a new political order to replace both liberalism and its natural culmination, post-liberalism. I mention the need to differentiate a specifically American version of the fourth political theory, moving toward a position of pragmatic eclecticism that can absorb some of the disjointed remnants of liberalism that infuse our Constitution and society. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:15:27

Review: Why Liberalism Failed by Patrick Deneen

8/10/2019
More
In this episode, we look at Why Liberalism Failed by Patrick Deneen. In particular, we examine Deneen's claim that fundamental to liberalism is a rejection of the constraints imposed upon us by nature, and the attempt to overcome those constraints through science, technology, and the destruction of culture's symbiosis with nature. We also examine Deneen's ideas about what comes after liberalism. more at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:16:04

Review: The Virtue of Nationalism by Yoram Hazony

8/9/2019
More
In 'The Virtue of Nationalism' Yoram Hazony describes the benefits of a political order based on a multiplicity of nation-states. This order is compared to the state of anarchy and the imperial drive toward conquest. We look at those components of Hazony's theory that most closely support a philosophically naturalistic approach to nationalism. more at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:00:00

Review: The Paleoconservatives by Joseph Scotchie

8/7/2019
More
Edited by Joseph Scotchie, The Paleoconservatives: A New Voice for the Old Right is a collection of essays that explores many aspects of paleoconservatism, as envisioned by writers from both the old right era and the 1990s paleoconservative revival. I discuss Russell Kirk's essay on traditionalism, William Hawkins on protectionism, Clyde Wilson on populism, and Sam Francis on nationalism. more at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:33:24

Review: America First! by Bill Kauffman

7/30/2019
More
In this episode we look deeper into the political environment of the first half of the 20th century, from the populist movement to the start of the Cold War, through Bill Kauffman's book, America First! Its History, Culture, and Politics. We look at such figures as Amos Pinchot, Alice Roosevelt Longworth, and Jack Kerouac. We look at the politicians of that era and dip into what it means to be an American. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:14:20

Review: Ship of Fools by Tucker Carlson

7/9/2019
More
In this episode I explore Tucker Carlson's best-selling book, 'Ship of Fools.' Carlson lays out the case that the American elites have been completely derelict in their management of the nation. I pay particular attention to the rending of our social fabric by infatuation with multiculturalism at the expense of cultural integrity. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:00:45:10

Review: Reclaiming the American Right by Justin Raimondo

7/8/2019
More
In this episode I look toward the thinkers of the pre-WWII American right wing, commonly referred to as the Old Right, and the usurpation of the conservative movement by successive waves of neoconservatives. Raimondo weighs the prospects of the libertarians and paleoconservatives, and explores the notion of a new fusionism between the two. I contrast this with my own vision of neofusionism. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:00:47:49

Review: In Defense of Freedom by Frank Meyer

7/7/2019
More
In this episode I look at the origins of the concept of fusionism, from which neofusionism takes its cue. In 'In Defense of Freedom and Related Essays' Frank Meyer lays out the 1960s fusionist vision of merging libertarianism with traditionalism to create what we now call conservatism. I examine the relation between freedom, reason, virtue, and tradition, as well as the associated different roles of the state and the culture in maintaining a society that is both free and virtuous. More at...

Duration:00:57:09

Review: In Defense of Tradition by Richard Weaver

7/7/2019
More
In this episode I dive into Richard Weaver's vast array of essays contained in the collection 'In Defense of Tradition.' Weaver covers such topics as dialectic vs rhetoric, the existence of human nature, and the effect of technology on the human condition. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:23:26

Review: Being and Time by Martin Heidegger

7/7/2019
More
In this episode I examine the fundamental principles of Heidegger's existentialism, seeking the ways in which he describes Being from the experiential perspective of dasein, or the human being. This examination explores thrownness and facticity, and the striving toward authenticity that we can utilize in building a naturalistic foundation for paleoconservatism. More at www.neofusionist.om

Duration:00:55:27

Review: Revolt Against the Modern World by Julius Evola

7/7/2019
More
In this episode I look at the conflict between modernity and tradition from a pre-Christian, spriritually Traditionalist perspective in Julius Evola's Revolt Against the Modern World. I explore how we can look at time cyclically, and embrace the past though the notion of home. I begin to explore the similarities between ancient pagan thought and modern conservatism. More at neofusionist.com

Duration:00:59:31

Review: The Roots of Romanticism by Isaiah Berlin

7/7/2019
More
In this episode I explore the Romantic response to the Enlightenment, in Isaiah Berlin's The Roots of Romanticism. I look at the German thinkers Hamann and Herder and their focus on the incapacity of the Enlightenment paradigm to account for the full richness of the individual and group identity. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:00:54:36

Review: The Enlightenment: The Rise of Modern Paganism by Peter Gay

7/6/2019
More
In this episode I take a deeper look at the philosophical concepts that undergird the Age of Enlightenment, through my examination of Peter Gay's 'The Enlightenment: The Rise of Modern Paganism.' In this book, Gay examines the connections that the philosophes felt with the ancient Greek and Roman thinkers, and the culture of criticism that they fostered in their conflict with Christianity. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:19:05

Review: The Cave and the Light by Arthur Herman

7/2/2019
More
In this episode I track the conflict between realism and idealism all the way back to Plato and Aristotle in Arthur Herman's epic 'The Cave and the Light: Plato Versus Aristotle and the Struggle for the Soul of Western Civilization.' We explore Aristotle's influence on John Locke and the Enlightenment, and seek to assemble a philosophy that embraces empiricism, pragmatism, and the constrained vision. More at www.neofusionist.com.

Duration:01:14:33

Review: The Great Debate by Yuval Levin

6/30/2019
More
In this episode I will dive deeper into the philosophical divide that I explored last episode. This is well exemplified in the debate between Edmund Burke and Thomas Paine. I look closely at tradition as the inheritance that connects generations and man's nature as a social being in a given circumstance. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:01:55:17

Review: A Conflict of Visions by Thomas Sowell

6/25/2019
More
In this important work, Thomas Sowell explains the difference between the constrained and unconstrained vision. I compare this dichotomy to those we've seen in previous eposides. I take a particular interest in the constrained vision, as this is the one which allows for a distinct human nature crafted by the processes of evolution. More at www.neofusionist.com

Duration:00:38:45