Rokcast-logo

Rokcast

Podcasts

Gear reviews and tips and tactics for backcountry hunters

Gear reviews and tips and tactics for backcountry hunters

Location:

United States

Genres:

Podcasts

Description:

Gear reviews and tips and tactics for backcountry hunters

Language:

English

Contact:

2086602450


Episodes

Wildlife and Mule Deer with Jaden Bales

5/8/2021
We're joined in this episode by Jaden Bales, a long time guest of the podcast. This time we're talking about wildlife changes in states like Wyoming and how to get more involved in the decisions being made. Naturally we transition broadly into mule deer and scouting.

Duration:01:00:42

Tipsy Tuesday – Early May

5/6/2021
Welcome back everyone. In this episode of Tipsy Tuesday: Crispi Briksdal GTX boot review, Kyle Virgin, https://www.rokslide.com/crispi-briksdal-gtx-sf-boot-review/ Maven RF.1 rangefinder review, https://www.rokslide.com/maven-rf-1-rangefinder-review/ Stone Glacier M7 review, Jake Potter, https://www.rokslide.com/stone-glacier-m7-review/ Crispi Resole Valdres review Jim Carr, https://www.rokslide.com/crispi-resole-review/ Crispi Attiva Mid GTX ->...

Duration:00:31:35

Sleeping Bags and Pads with Trail Kreitzer

5/1/2021
Trail Kreitzer with GoHunt joins us today to talk sleeping bags, pads and other gear. We catch up with him on his perspective of the hunter number increases throughout the west along with scratching the surface on his tag strategy. We then talk all things sleep systems.

Duration:01:11:01

Time Management and Hunting Life with Jake Downs

4/24/2021
Hard working family man Jake Downs joins us again to talk about time management with family, work and hunting. We also dive into how he got his 4 year old daughter an archery turkey and preparing for his Dall Sheep hunt coming up in August. Jake works extremely hard at balancing life to get more time in the field and offers some great advice to those wanting to do the same. Rokslide Forums -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/

Duration:01:06:24

Cold Bow Challenge – Tipsy Tuesday

4/15/2021
This week for Tipsy Tuesday: Alaska proposal to shut down moose and caribou hunts to non-residents in units 23 and 26A. Vortex Tripod Review -> https://www.rokslide.com/vortex-radian-carbon-fiber-tripod-review/ Robby's Best of Hunting Big Mule Deer film trailer -> https://www.rokslide.com/the-best-of-hunting-big-mule-deer-trailer/ Cold Bow Challenge -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/threads/2021-rokslide-cold-bow-challenge-question-comment-thread.212367/

Duration:00:32:13

Do It Yourself Camping Meals with Jake Lamphier

4/10/2021
Today Jake Lamphier joins us to discuss his latest Rokslide article called DIY Backpacking Meals -> https://www.rokslide.com/diy-backpacking-meals/. We talk about the cost, equipment, process and meal ideas. DIY Freezer Bag Meals forum thread -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/threads/freezer-bag-cooking-post-your-recipes-here-to-share.1629/ MtnTough Calorie Calculator -> https://mtntough.com/pages/calorie-download

Duration:00:46:21

Tipsy Tuesday – April 6

4/6/2021
On this weeks Tipsy Tuesday: Rent Guns n Gear, https://www.rokslide.com/rent-guns-n-gear-review/ Davis Tent Go Tent review, https://www.rokslide.com/davis-tent-go-tent-review/ Backpack hunting with diabetes, https://www.rokslide.com/backpack-hunting-with-diabetes/ Kuiu Gale Force system review, https://www.rokslide.com/kuiu-kutana-gale-force-system-review/. Big Game Changes in Idaho Wyoming makes roadkill changes

Duration:00:16:09

2021 Bow Review with Jimmy Tippetts

3/19/2021
Jimmy Tippetts joins us to go through a handful of 2021 bows. We cover fit, feel, draw cycles and tuning ease with each. 2021 Bow Showdown Review -> https://www.rokslide.com/2021-bow-showdown-review/

Duration:00:45:03

Tipsy Tuesday – Mid March

3/11/2021
On this episode of Tipsy Tuesday: 2021 bow showdown review -> https://www.rokslide.com/2021-bow-showdown-review/ Arrowhead Muzzleloader Breech Plug for Remington Muzzleloader review -> https://www.rokslide.com/arrowhead-breech-plug-for-remington-muzzleloader-review/ Iron Will single bevel review -> https://www.rokslide.com/iron-will-outfitters-single-bevel-broadhead-review/ Rok Solid hunting rifle w/o breaking the bank ->...

Duration:00:12:06

For the Ladies with Tanya Avery

3/6/2021
This week we have Tanya Avery on to talk about her comparison of "she-wee" devices for woman in the wild. Lea Piper hops on with Jordan as well. The trio talks all backcountry things for ladies including staying warm and navigating the tricky times.

Duration:01:22:43

Utah House Bill with Travis Hobbs

2/27/2021
Our good friend Travis Hobbs joins us today to talk about HB 295 in Utah. This bill has raised a ruckus with some Utah hunters and Travis talks about why and where the bill stands today. We also briefly cover HB 143 in Montana.

Duration:00:25:16

Point Creep Explained with Mike Street

2/20/2021
Rokslider Mike Street joins us this week to talk about point creep. Is it real or not? How do you plan around it? Mike covers point creep from a very scientific and plotted stand point using Colorado as an example. Unraveling the Mystery of Point Creep by Mike Street -> https://www.rokslide.com/unraveling-the-mystery-of-point-creep/

Duration:00:35:21

Tipsy Tuesday – February 16

2/16/2021
On this episode of Rokcast's Tipsy Tuesday: Justin Crossley's Mule Deer hunt film will go live on Rokslide Youtube this week. Wyoming wolves are in Colorado. Utah has a propose trail camera and baiting ban. Gunwerks Revic review by Jim Carr, https://www.rokslide.com/gunwerks-revic-exo-extreme-o-ring-rear-sight-review/. Davis Tents Antelope wall tent package by Jordan Budd, https://www.rokslide.com/davis-tent-antelope-package-review/. Swarovski BTX review by Robby Denning,...

Duration:00:15:57

Top Gear in 2020 with Ryan and Robby

2/13/2021
Ryan Avery and Robby Denning run together in this episode to talk about the top gear picks in 2020 for the Rokslide staff. 2020 Rokstaff Gear Picks article -> https://www.rokslide.com/2020-rokstaff-top-gear-picks/

Duration:01:18:18

Dall Sheep Gear with Nick Muche

2/6/2021
In today's episode we're joined by Nick Muche. Nick lives in Alaska and has a number of years sheep hunting under his belt. We cover some of the logistics of traveling for a sheep hunt and the gear.

Duration:00:52:48

A Highcountry Deer Hunt with Justin Crossley

2/2/2021
Justin Crossley joins us this week to talk about his highcountry mule deer hunt in 2020. Jordan was along on the hunt to film a Rokslide Original Film which will be released on the Rokslide youtube channel soon. We talk about the gear we used, trials and tribulations that were had and the lessons we learned. Rokslide Youtube Channel -> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9EggmiRWDFPUAm6iYPDe0g

Duration:01:13:28

Tipsy Tuesday – January 26

1/26/2021
This week on Tipsy Tuesday we cover: -New lawsuits involving wolves. -The NRA moves to Texas. -Swarovski comes out with a new range-finding binocular. A new Rokslide original film is live! -> https://www.rokslide.com/hunting-big-mule-deer-in-the-rut/ Tony Trietch reviews the Leica Rangemaster 3500.com -> https://www.rokslide.com/leica-rangemaster-crf-3500-com-review/ Spartan Valhalla bipod review -> https://www.rokslide.com/spartan-valhalla-bipod-review/ The Rokstaff reviews their favorite...

Duration:00:11:37

A Pocket Full of Tags with Tony Trietch

1/23/2021
We catch up with Rokslide writer Tony Trietch in this episode. Tony hunts a pocket full of tags every year hunting the west and 2020 was no different. We go through his season and some of the tactics and gear that he used.

Duration:00:47:39

Gear and Game with Jim Carr

1/16/2021
Rokstaff writer Jim Carr joins us again to run through his season and the pile of gear he used. Jim used multiple boots, new scopes, muzzleloader sights and a bunch more new gear items he talks about. Jim hunts and scouts more than anyone I know and he's a wealth of knowledge when it comes to the gear and the strategy. Zeiss Conquest V4 scope -> https://www.rokslide.com/zeiss-conquest-v4-4-16x44-riflescope-review/

Duration:00:40:32

Calling Coyotes with Casey Johnson

1/9/2021
This week Casey Johnson joins us again, this time to talk about coyotes. Casey calls coyotes as much as anyone I know and he walks us through calling coyotes from choosing areas to choosing the gear. Hunting in Grizzly Country -> https://www.rokslide.com/hunting-in-grizzly-country-with-casey-johnson/

Duration:00:36:17