About To Review-logo

About To Review

Television >

More Information

Episodes

ATR #121 – The Meg, plus Good, Bad, and Ugly shark movies

8/15/2018
More
Shark, sharks, and more sharks! Returning to the studio is fan favorite guest Tim Hall (The People's Critic)! We review "The Meg", and then give our choices for "Good", "Bad", and "Ugly" shark related films. Make sure to hit us up on social media and let us know what your favorite shark movie is!

Duration:01:30:57

ATR #120 – 48 Hour Film Project 2018, Christopher Robin, The Darkest Minds, BlacKKKlansman

8/8/2018
More
It is time once again for one of my favorite local film festivals, the "Seattle 48 Hour Film Project"! Dr. Andy returned to the studio to talk about our festivals favorites, plus I review 3 new films: "Christopher Robin", "The Darkest Minds", and "BlaKKKlansman"!

Duration:01:58:18

ATR #119 – Podcast Awards! Plus geek news!

7/30/2018
More
This week's episode is a solo show where I try not to crazy while in the studio by myself! The reason this episode is dropping early is because this podcast is nominated for an international podcast award and the voting closes on Tuesday, July 31st!

Duration:00:40:23

ATI #23 – Carlos Lopez Estrada, director of “Blindspotting”

7/27/2018
More
This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” features my conversation with director Carlos Lopez Estrada from the new film "Blindspotting" starring Daveed Diggs and Rafael Casal! This interview took place during the 2018 Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF).

Duration:00:17:41

ATR #118 – Equalizer 2, Mission Impossible: Fallout, Blindspotting, SDCC news

7/25/2018
More
This week's episode is filled to the gills (pun absolutely intended) with Jed and I reviewing 3 new movies, "Equalizer 2", "Mission Impossible: Fallout" and "Blindspotting"! After that we cover a bunch of new trailers that dropped during the recent San Diego Comic Con!

Duration:01:46:54

ATI #22 – Bo Burnham and Elsie Fisher

7/20/2018
More
This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” features my conversation with writer/ director Bo Burnham and actress Elsie Fisher from the new film "Eighth Grade" which is in theaters now! This interview took place during the Seattle International Film Festival.

Duration:00:21:54

ATI #21 – Pornsak Pichetshote and Aaron Campbell

7/19/2018
More
This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” features my conversation with two members of the creative of the new comic book series "Infidel" from Image Comics; writer Pornsak Pichetshote and artist Aaron Campbell!

Duration:01:10:56

ATR #117 – Eighth Grade, Don’t Worry movie, Skyscraper, Unfriended, Jurassic Dead

7/18/2018
More
This week's packed podcast has reviews for "Don't Worry He Won't Get Far On Foot", "Eighth Grade", "Skyscraper", Unfriended: Dark Web", and "Jurassic Dead". Joining me on this adventure is the one and only Jed!

Duration:01:40:58

ATI #20 – Gus Van Sant and Beth Ditto w/ Feelin’ Film

7/13/2018
More
This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” is a collaboration with Aaron of the "Feelin' Film" podcast! It features a conversation with director Gus Van Sant and actress Beth Ditto, from the new film "Don't Worry He Won't Get Far On Foot".

Duration:00:27:45

ATR #116 – Sorry To Bother You, The First Purge w/ E-Man’s Movie Reviews

7/11/2018
More
Joining me on this episode is my friend Emmanuel from "E-Man's Movie Reviews" who is fellow geek & Chicago based film critic! We do a "Getting to know you" section about Emmanuel before reviewing two new movies: "Sorry To Bother You" and "The First Purge".

Duration:01:38:34

ATR #115 – 5 new movies, and 1 retro review!

7/5/2018
More
This jam packed episode with guest Tim "The People's Critic" includes 5 reviews for new movies: "Leave No Trace", "Whitney", "Ant Man & The Wasp", "Uncle Drew", and "Sicario: Day of the Soldado", plus a retro review of "500 days of Summer"!

Duration:02:05:54

ATI #19 – Cheo Hodari Coker

7/5/2018
More
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features my conversation with Cheo Hodari Coker, the creator, writer, and executive producer of "Marvel's Luke Cage" on Netflix.

Duration:00:23:29

ATR #114 – ACE Comic Con and best of SIFF 2018

6/28/2018
More
This week's episode features an interview with Gareb Shamus, the CEO of ACE Comic Con, as well as a breakdown of ACE which happened this past week in Seattle. After that we give our top 3 films from the Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF). Joining me on this adventure is Tim Hall!

Duration:01:58:42

ATR #113 – TAG, Jurassic Park: Fallen Kingdom

6/21/2018
More
After sweating away 5 pounds in a blazing theater, John & returning guest Jed come back to the studio to review the action/ comedy "TAG", & the massive "Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom". Plus a recap of the VAFF "Diversity in Filmmaking" panels.

Duration:01:20:15

ATI #18 – Morgan Neville

6/15/2018
More
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast was recorded during the 2018 Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) and features Oscar Winner Morgan Neville discussing his new film "Won't You Be My Neighbor".

Duration:00:15:05

ATR #112 – Ocean’s 8, Incredibles 2, Won’t You Be My Neighbor

6/13/2018
More
The tag team duo of Tim Hall (People's Critic) and Jed (The Guy Named What?) drop by the About To Review studio to discuss three new films: "Ocean's 8", "Incredibles 2", and the documentary about Mr. Rogers, "Won't You Be My Neighbor".

Duration:01:37:15

ATR #111 – Upgrade, Hereditary, Hotel Artemis

6/7/2018
More
This episode highlights three films by directors who are just starting their feature film making careers . Films include the sci-fi action thriller "Upgrade", the uniquely terrifying "Hereditary", and finally the star studded romp "Hotel Artemis".

Duration:00:57:18

ATR #110 – Heist, Heist, Baby

5/31/2018
More
Yep, you read the title correctly, this week's episode is all about heist movies! Returning after a 1 year hiatus is friend of the podcast Jed, and together he and John give their picks for "Good", "Bad", and "Ugly" heist movies. Plus a review for the new film "Disobedience".

Duration:01:28:43

ATI #17 – Sebastian Lelio

5/25/2018
More
This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast was recorded during the 2018 Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) and features Oscar Winner Sebastian Lelio discussing his new film "Disobedience".

Duration:00:13:41

ATR #109 – SOLO, Pope Francis, Boom for Real, Revenge

5/23/2018
More
A short time ago, in a podcast studio not very far away ... two of Seattle's film critics, "That Guy Named John" and Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" got together and reviewed several current movies! "SOLO: A Star Wars Story", "Pope Francis: A man of his word", "Boom For Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat", and "Revenge".

Duration:01:21:58